I Choose to Dance

I chose to dance.

As David danced,

Jazz fingers spread

Under the moon,

The ski, the stars, the Son;

I chose to dance.

*

I chose to dance.

Like Jephthah’s daughter,

Body straightened

Showered in light,

Angels’ songs, tumbling notes;

I chose to dance.

*

I chose to dance.

As Miriam danced,

Toes cramped tight

On dusty grass, and

Step-ball-change-repeat;

I chose to dance.

*

I chose to dance.

As maidens danced

Head bowed low,

Mourning to gladness,

Sorrow to comfort, joy and light;

I choose to dance.

*

bcfk          Jeremiah 31

Leave a Reply

