Lenten Journey #17

It started on Friday afternoon. I saw a sign: “”Be still, and know that I am God…” ~Ps 46:10

I’m not still very often. Usually, I’m multi-tasking: watching TV and reading (articles/devotionals/newspapers/magazines, etc)or playing jigsaw puzzles on the computer…reading a book while watching TV as I look up things in reference to the subject matter/author/extending connections…. cleaning the house while listening to TV or radio or music or singing...even sitting in the hot tub is a series of stretches/exercises/
reading/singing…throw in running commentaries with my husband within each of those sub-groups and…well…I’m just not “still”. I may be sitting. I may be in the same room pretty much all day, and I’m still not “still”.

Can God get through to me, if I am not “still”?

So for the past few days, I’ve “stilled” my mind – not much – just a little here and there. Do you know if you are just watching TV, you actually see a lot more of the show? Writing in your journal, words take on metaphorical depth? Talking to your husband, you “see” beyond the words? Sitting in the hot tub, you feel like you could touch the stars on a beautiful night? That reading the WORD reaches a spot deep inside that makes you cry at the Love and Grace that are shared?

“Keep me as the apple of Your eye; hide me in the shadow (the Hebrew word that is used is “tzel” which literally means “shade.”) of Your wings.” Ps~17:8

It is so easy to fall into the “world view” of what we should be doing. Even going to church (when we find time to go) is no longer just being “still”…rituals supersede “still”…changing rituals super-supersede “still”…back-lit technology replaces the dogged-eared tome…cellphones – even when they are delivering a Bible verse – intrude upon being “still”…

When Rabbe Jesus wanted to be “still”, He walked away from His disciples, away from the crowds, away from the world. He only had a few days left – and He knew. Yet – He made time to be “still”. We make time for what we think is important…the latest game, the dinner date, the TV show, the home project, the newest gadget, the latest [insert your own word/s]…

Tomorrow, I will try to be a little more “still”. The Jewish tradition is to wake up in the morning, singing the Modeh Ani. I don’t know the words yet – nor the song – but I think tomorrow morning, I want to read the words as soon as I open my eyes because I know that Rabbe Jesus woke up every morning saying the same words: “I offer thanks to You, living and eternal King, for You have mercifully restored my soul within me; Your faithfulness is great.”

“Be still, and know that I am Elohim…”

Leave a Reply

