Lenten Journey #26

Hmmm…not sure how I missed posting this one.  But…

a little late…

a little out of order…

yet…

here it is. =)

 

“For I have heard the slander of many: fear was on every side: while they took counsel together against me…” Ps 31:13

Gossip – bullying – rumors – innuendos swirl around all of us everyday. The advent of technology just made it travel faster and in wider and wider circles. Yet – as you can see, as far back as the OT and King David, the apple was always there waiting to be bitten.

apple_malware_457249The apple sits in the palm of every hand, and every person has that choice in one way or another. Bite off a piece and enjoy the sweet taste…or set it aside. It is tempting to grab a bite quikcly. After all. most of our friends are biting off huge chunks of the fruit and there might not be any left…we do tend to be greedy at times. But like all apples that fall from the Tree of Life into our lap, there is a worm. Hidden among the sweetness and the crunchy meat of the tempting fruit, a worm makes its way to our innards where it squiggles and starts to grow. Craving more and more apples of various types, our stomachs become a roiling, pitching sea of unease.

Rabbe Jesus understood this apple very well. He was driven from towns and temples, probably more frequently than we know, because of this apple. As Palm Sunday drew closer, more and more of this particular kind of apple was being eaten by many of the Jewish people. The worm took much longer to raise its ugly head in those days sans twitter/FB/instagram/etc., but grow it did. 5 days is all it took. Triumph to Tragedy. Sweet to Sour.

Feasting on any of these types apples will never fill the stomach. Rabbe Jesus knew this and shared Himself – His words – His life -His love – that we might have enough armor to ward off the pangs of hunger and eat of any apple that falls from the Tree of Life. Yet it is still our choice. The lenten journey is a time for introspection, faith and often – choices.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be fearful. Ye heard how I said to you, I go away, and I come unto you. If ye loved me, ye would have rejoiced, because I go unto the Father: for the Father is greater than I. And now I have told you before it come to pass, that, when it is come to pass, ye may believe. I will no more speak much with you, for the prince of the world cometh: and he hath nothing in me; but that the world may know that I love the Father, and as the Father gave me commandment, even so I do. Arise, let us go hence.” Jn 14:27-31

Leave a Reply

