Lenten Journey #30

 

Holy Thursday –

Covenant Thursday –

Maundy Thursday – “Mandatum novum do vobis ut diligatis invicem sicut dilexi vos”

The long journey to Jerusalem is over. The introspection of self – the virtues – the analysis of character – the deep down conviction of beliefs – comes to a salient conclusion. Now the journey will be shorter and becomes “action”. Maundy Thursday becomes the journey to the cross. The sacrificing of “self” for the love of others. Maundy, an old English word derived from the Latin phrase stated above. “Mandatum novum do vobis ut diligatis invicem sicut dilexi vos: “A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you” ~Jn 13:34 quoting Jesus.

This is when the 5 W’s might come into play (and of course – throw in a “How” as well) What would you do if you knew? Where would you go? Who would you touch? How would you spend it? When will it begin? Why does it have to be this way? Did Rabbe Yeshua ask these of Himself? I think I would…especially – the “Why?”

Today was a full day. Got to play with the grands again since they are out of school and a tiny bit sick with colds. Came home – grabbed a “cat-nap” for 15 min and on my way to school. Spring has hit the school – teenage angst – petty squabbles – CCS last minute testing push – and tired staff – normal stuff. Went to store, fixed supper, and within 2 min on-line…dozed off listening to a favorite hymn.

Didn’t last long. The video had ended and the laptop had just dimmed as it prepared for sleep mode. I guess I was tired. Yet I did dream. Mom and dad;s voice were still echoing the same hymn I had been watching, but I saw me dancing as I had in my childhood home – cloaked in the white lace curtains that I had used whenever I danced for joy around the house. Memory? Gift? Blessing? All I know I feel blessed and revived…almost ready to throw off my bothersome arthritis and dance again. 

Maundy Thursday leads us to the journey of the cross…but after the cross…is the journey that I look forward to the most. “Holy, Holy, Holy” This is the way I remember it – Jane Eyer Mayer playing the organ. Mom on one side – Dad on the other (when he wasn’t fishing in God’s “real” church) and me soaking it in until I could do nothing else, but dance for joy for days afterwards.

v. 3 Holy, holy, holy! Lord God Almighty!
All thy works shall praise thy name, in earth and sky and sea.
Holy, holy, holy! Merciful and mighty,
God in three persons, blessed Trinity.

 

Leave a Reply

