Star Shine

When the the lyrics of “Good Morning Star Shine” are singing through your dream as you wake up, you kinda get the idea that the day is a wonderful promise just waiting to unfold. Come to think about it – it sorta was a promise. The lyrics seemed to follow – or maybe lead me through my day.

“Good morning star shine, the earth says hello
You twinkle above us, we twinkle below
Good morning star shine, you lead us along
My love and me as we sing our
Early morning singin’ song”

Since husband was off working, I decided it was time to do some “twinkling”. Read a little, write a little, sing a little, play [with the dogs] a little – and just kinda let the “star shine…lead [me] along”. One thing it led me to was the tiny baby bunny that has been munching on my strawberry leaves. Unbelievably, my big-ol’-rabbit-chasing-chocolate-labs, never saw her. 20 feet from them, and they missed the show. She hopped along merrily behind them, munching on grass {and my tender strawberry leaves) until she was eventually lost among the early morning shadows and the surrounding bushes. It was a good way to start the day, but it made me wonder if I’m not an awful lot like my dogs and miss those things that are pretty obvious – if I would just turn my head and open my eyes. “Do not be wise in your own eyes…” Prov 3:7

“Gliddy glub gloopy nibby nabby noopy
La la la, lo lo
Sabba sibbi sabba nooby aba naba
Lee lee, lo lo
Tooby ooby wala
Nooby aba naba
Early morning singin’ song”

And like all too many of my days, I let the nonsense get in the way of my serious plans…like steam cleaning the floors, scrubbing toilets, organizing all those pictures (I know you get the “picture” at this point). Being a true blue Gemini, I often get side-tracked…read too many pages, play to many songs on the piano, fiddle with this and that until suddenly (or so it seems) storm clouds are overhead blocking the sun, and it is almost supper time. The song is almost over already. Thank goodness, God never gets side-tracked by nonsense. “Now all glory to God, who is able, through His mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” Ep 3:20

“Singin’ a song, hummin’ a song
Singin’ a song
Lovin’ a song, laughin’ a song
Singing a song

So as I made home-made salsa, re-fried beans (thank you kindly, Miss Maria) and taco chicken (thank you, #1 daughter) I listened to the song do some more dancing with the memories in my head. The 70’s was a long time ago, Teaching memories, bands-plays-choirs-soloist memories, friendships/family memories…and then tonight – one last memory surfaced and made me laugh.  The UNC channel did a whole hour on the Dave Clark Five. And “I’m Feelin’ [bam, bam] Glad All over…”
“Sing the song
Song the sing
Song, song, song sing
Sing, sing, sing song

Song, song, song sing
Sing, sing, sing song”
Promise kept and delivered.

One response to “Star Shine

  1. Thanks for sharing. Excellent thought provoking read. Feel free to share your inspirational posts at Godinterest (the Pinterest for Christians). God Bless Your Ministry

Leave a Reply

