Baby Sparrows Addendum

Shhhh….it’s a secret and you can’t tell the Grands…yet.

I’ve been watching this secret all week. I wish now that I had taken pictures, but true to form, I never think of pictures until it is much later. Until today, that is. Today I managed to think ahead (a little) and snap a picture memory.

june 29 2014 001

After the week we had with baby birds at the daughter’s house, I was not surprised to see what was happening at my house. God is like that. When He is teaching me a lesson, it usually doesn’t come via one experience. He knows me all too well. Knowledge is one thing – wisdom is a whole ‘nother thing…..and sometmes with me….God knows He has to put it in my face in more than one way. I doubt. I question. I backtrack. I wimp out.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for, and certain of what we do not see.” Heb 11:1

A few weeks back one of my sons posted about a music study completed by the Berlin Academy of Music that determined it takes tens of thousands of hours to become a world class soloist in any field. Now this doesn’t take into account savants or prodigies, but it does reflect most of us. So today, I wasn’t surprised when my preacher started talking about the same things that Our Father has been impressing in my hard head all week, and it all started with baby birds.

If you read that earlier post, you know it didn’t end well for the baby birds. The Grands were sad, but fascinated as well…(especially with the bright blue eyeball that popped out of one of them after the dog discovered it….sigh). Yet, at the same time that was happening – just a few miles away at my house – another set of bird parents were building a nest. Their vision of the perfect nest is different. They put it in a low tree that is no higher than my chin. Tonight, I took a picture of the four eggs that are resting in it.

june 29 2014 004

“Where there is no vision, the people perish…” Prov 29:18

Now I can see all sorts of potential problems with this nest placement. There are roaming cats in the neighborhood (and this would be a very easy climb); the dogs and I are always around that tree when we are playing ball and could knock the tree; and scarier for everyone – the Grands will be putting their face in it – every minute – of every day – when they find out. However, the mommy and daddy birds have a vision – a goal – a plan…and what they have accomplished in a week is truly a miracle in progress. The parents built their nest in faith and nothing pleases God more than that…especially when humans – the ones He “made in Our own image” – seek their dreams – set their goals – step out in faith.

“…let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” Heb 12:1b

It’s not always easy. The first set of birds lost two of their three young ones. Who knows what life will bring to this new set of birds. What I do know is that they act on their faith. They act with perseverance. If something happens to this nest, they will build again. They will put in hours and hours of achieving and mastering their dream.

Today, my preacher said, “The God of the Bible is a dreamer.” Those words have been following me all day. Daily we make choices that either follow the dreams that we are seeking or ignore them. Different times in our lives, we re-evaluate, modify our dreams or re-set them altogether. Think of those times that shook your life – junior high, high school, college, marriage, retirement, a death in the family – these are the times when dreams are shaken, modified or changed.

For me this past year has been one of those time. I’ve come to the conclusion that there is no “retirement” in the Bible or in God’s design. Whether we are birds of the air or humans “made in Our own image”, we need to PERSIST in dreaming and seeking the vision of our lives. So here I go. Circling the dream and persisting in that “even though” faith. It is easy to coast through the day, going from one “busyness” to another “busyness”. It is entirely something else to be like Martha who watched her brother die and then waited four days for Jesus to arrive.

“Lord, if You had been here, my brother would not have died. EVEN NOW, I know that whatever You ask of God, God will give You.” John 11:21

It’s time to have that “EVEN NOW” faith and get on with the dreaming. BTW – don’t tell the Grands yet. I’m still enjoying this secret between me and Our Father.

Leave a Reply

