The Gate-keeper

We beat the gate-keeper to the lake this morning. I knew I wouldn’t have a lot of time to let the girls (our labs =) ) swim and walk this morning (since I had appointments to keep), so I wanted to make sure to take advantage of every minute. It was worth it. 73 degrees, a slight breeze and happy, barking dogs – life doesn’t get much better and I was glad the gate-keeper was on time.

“Thou shalt also decree a thing, and it shall be established unto thee..” Job 22:28a

But as I watched all the beauty around me, I kept thinking about the 3 teenagers killed in Israel. 18 days missing and buried today. Earlier today I read and shared a post by an Israeli woman. She talked about how the number 18 in Hebrew is equivalent to the word “chai” which means “life”. Needless to say, that one little sentence has been revisiting my thought process throughout the day. A dat spent reading a new book, waiting for the doctors to say I am a perfectly healthy 63 year old – enjoying the freedom to drive around and purchase things I “needed”.

Just – Life.

I think I have a pretty great one, and I am more and more thankful for it everyday. As I stood by the water watching the girls fetch their sticks, two pure white birds flew low over us. They were not the typical sea gulls that are often swirling over the lake, but they were also bigger than the white doves we occasionally see. I don’t know what they were, but they were beautiful. Even the dogs looked up as they were swimming, sticks in mouths, towards me. It’s one of those times I wish I was more like mom. She would have had a camera ready and snapped it. As they disappeared into the shelter of the woods, Israel and America popped into my mind.

Two countries founded upon a faith in one God. Three boys: Two Israelis and 1 American. Two countries tied together by faith. Three boys of different countries tied together by friendship and faith.

The older I get, the less I’m inclined to believe in “quinky-dinks” as my dad and mom used to say. Jewish wisdom looks at every “jot and tittle” as they study the WORD. They believe that nothing – not a dot – not a word – not a repetitive story – in the WORD is just a coincidence. They give God so much more credit than we -people of the new covenant – have done. In fact, we pretty much ignore the OT except for a few stories that we find relevant. We tend to forget that Jesus was totally Jewish and knew the WORD down to every “jot and tittle”. He often repeated the wisdom of the OT in His teachings.

“”Truly I tell you, whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.” Matt 18:18

I guess with all these thoughts roaming through my busy day, I wasn’t surprised when this last verse popped up in my devotions tonight. Did you notice the reference? 18:18. Did you notice that Jesus repeated a verse in Job? Life. Prayer. Faith. The gate-keeper is standing by the gate.

A Caliphate is proclaimed.

Three boys are buried.

I don’t know thy these things continued to claim my attention today or why I feel so compelled to write about all of it. I only know I am called to circle these thing in prayer, be faithful to what He calls me to do, and offer thanks for all the promises that He faithfully keeps each and every day. I am blessed…and watching for the gate-keeper to open the gates.

http://www.jewishgiftplace.com/Meaning-of-Hebrew-Chai.html

Leave a Reply

