A Good Book

I hate leaving the world of a great book. Today’s world du jour was Burnt Mountain by Anne Rivers Siddons. Re-entry into my world always takes burnt mountainplace normally, but the flashbacks continue for a few hours as I detach my self from that community and group of people that I have grown attached to during our short time together. Then I begin to wonder if there is possibly one more book of Siddons that I haven’t read and can’t wait to get to a computer to do a search.

A good book is a treasure which reminds me that I haven’t done my daily devotions in The Good Book yet. Surprisingly, I’ve gotten in the habit of enjoying my hour alone with WORD far more than I enjoy any other book (which I find totally amazing). It used to be that I had to force myself to Jesus_Christ_Superstarpull out the Book – read my token couple of randomly chosen chapters – say a quick prayer – all the while tossing a glance upwards as if I was Simon Zeolotes in Superstar: “Christ You know I love You, Did you see I waved? I believe in You and God, so tell me that I’m saved.”

“I will put my trust in Him.” Hebrews 2:13a

Nice thing about being retired is that I do have more time. In reality though, I try to do devotions at night right after supper, so I could have been doing this all my life.. Anne Voskamp mentioned this tradition in one of her books, and it intrigued me. Then I read it was also a Jewish tradition in some sects to study the Torah after a meal. It began to make sense. A full belly is useless if you have a soul that is starving.

“…All people are like grass,
and all their glory is like the flowers of the field;
the grass withers and the flowers fall,
but the WORD of the LORD endures forever…” 1 Peter 1:24-25

For me, it’s the best time of day. I’ve gotten my chores done, and I’m ready to just enjoy the quiet whispers of sound that surround our new biblehome. The heat of the day has passed, a slight breeze is gently pushing the wind chimes and the harmonics are better music than anything on the CD. Dogs are content to watch the birds or get in trouble for chasing the wild cats who often make the mistake of crossing the road in front of our house. And, I can work on that “stillness” that our preacher was talking about this week (I still “talk” way too much so I hope God is being patient).

Most of you who are my friends, understand that “need” to read a great book, especially after we’ve passed the exposition, and we’ve become attached to the story line/characters/hypothesis formulating in our heads of “what happens next” . If we leave that book behind (or haven’t downloaded a digital copy in reserve on our phone) and don’t have it to read when we have a minute or two, we are beyond frustrated. That same feeling has now transferred to my devotions. I try to do more than “wave” at God these days and miss it more than I can say when I don’t make the time to spend with my Father. That being said, I guess it is time to get off of here and read a few more words in a book that never ends, and for that, I’m truly thankful to Our Father.

love books

Leave a Reply

