I Love Sundays

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” Ps 91:1

 love Sundays. I  Love the lazy pace of the day. I  LOVE going to church, feeling the Holy Spirit move throughout the building…or listening to a 10 piece band (led by an older trumpet player who knows how to make his instrument sing) that plays “How Great Thou Art” which brings people to their feet…letting a praise choir remind me why running to Jesus is so vital…best yet…learning something new in the WORD.

“He will cover you with his feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge; His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.” Ps 91:4

shadow

Today it seemed as if God was moving in many churches. I lost count of how many of my FB friends commented on their church experience today and the blessings that they felt after going there. I know that tears pushed past my lashes in church a couple of times. His Love, His mercy, His grace were pouring out over our heads, and all we had to do was be thankful.

“If you make the Most High your dwelling, even the LORD, who is my refuge—then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come new your tent, For He will command His angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone. You will tread upon the lion and the cobra; you will trample the great lion and the serpent.” 91:9-13

Psalm 91 11#2

We tend to take those verses literally: tent meaning home. But according to Jewish traditions: tent means our connection to God. Go back and substitute that image as you read: “…no disaster will come near your connection to the LORD”. Bad things happen in our world. A much loved child dies way too early; 800 missile strikes have reigned down on Israel in the past two weeks; car crashes that break fragile bodies; spousal abuse, child trafficking, etc. Yet, if we trust our Father, live in His WORD, nothing will break that connection…N-O-T-H-I-N-G!

“‘Because he loves me,’ says the LORD, ‘I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.” Ps 91:14-15

My daily Bible is getting a little dog-eared. I bought it in ’09 after most of my Bibles burned in our house fire…in fact, after a change of clothes – it was the first thing I bought. Chapter markers are falling off, pages are bent, colorful post-it markers protrude at odd intervals, old church bulletins hang out here and there, while tons of dates, notes and underlining decorate almost every page. Today when our preacher said to turn to Ps 91, I wondered what notes I could possibly squeeze in the margin…BUT I MANAGED. 

 love Sundays – but most of all – I LOVE the LORD.

One response to “I Love Sundays

  1. I, too, love Sundays. Always feel peace and calm and feel safe when I go to church. I have been studying Psalm 91 and thank you for reminding me about the connection – nothing will break.

Leave a Reply

