Just a “Water” Type of Day

“Wade in the water
Wade in the water, children,
Wade in the water
God’s a-going to trouble the water”

What a way to wake up in the morning.  “Wade in the Water” flowing through my mind and into my toes.  Just makes me want to go to the beach. If I was richer than Midas, I would have my husband build me a “Stanley K” house on the ocean. A house where the music of the wind and waves would lull me to sleep every night (I don’t think I would ever watch TV again). The best part would be walking on the beach with the water just covering my feet – during the day – the night… Can you tell I’m day dreaming? In fact – whenever we do go to the ocean – that is the best part of the trip. Well – I do like to walk out even further when the waves are crashing, and the wind is whipping at my face. Ooooo – and when it is stormy, I am fascinated by the power that makes anything I do look puny and helpless.Brown-Pelicans-Holden-Beach-NC

Sometimes it is good to feel that way. It makes you wonder at everything around you from the tiniest piece of sand to the massive clouds drifting over your head. In the old days, I could just plop on the sand and enjoy. Now a days, I have to think twice about that since getting up is not quiet as easy as it used to be…sigh…but I am working on it. Physical therapy, stretches and more exercise may bring plopping back down in the sand reality once more.

“When you reach the edge of the Jordan’s waters, go and stand in the river.” Joshua 3:8b

Joshua is one of my favorite books in the Bible (which is a story for another day because today seems to be a water issue). While the Grands jordan01played in the water this afternoon, I wished for the umpteenth hundred time that I could reach my feet over the side of the pool and just dangle my feet in it. However, it’s just not that kind of pool. Next – my Bible readings followed Moses and the Israelites as they crossed the sea on dry ground. Old story and yet, like always, sucks me right into the miracle. Finally, my devotional book led me to Joshua’s crossing of the Jordan another miracle that wraps around my mind. do you see what I mean about this water thing?red sea

“…I am the LORD, who heals you.” Ex 15:26b

By this stage of my life, I have figured out that there is a reason why Our Father brings things together in a certain way. I’m sure that I am only picking up on a tenth of what I’m supposed to be figuring out when He does this, but I’m getting better. Water in Jewish tradition often refers to purification or repristination.(Re`pris`ti`na´tion. n. 1. Restoration to an original state; renewal of purity). So it made me wonder – what am I supposed to be figuring out about the two times the Israelites crossed two bodies of water? Guess what – I’m still wondering, but at least – I have figured out I’m supposed to be wondering.

“Go back and report to John what you have seen and heard: The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is proclaimed to the poor. Blessed is anyone who does not stumble on account of me.” Lk 7:22-23

The Jewish people walked through water twice before getting to the promise land. John the Baptist baptized many, and then baptized Jesus with water before He began His ministry. My mind continues to turn these things around in my head. It is still hard for me to be “still” – to listen to the faint words of my Father’s teachings. Someday, I may become a wise woman – for now – I’m just struggling through each day. Trying to make my body stronger with physical therapy, a much better diet and a daily walk along the beach where I can get my feet wet in the ocean of His WORD.

Southern Ocean

Leave a Reply

