SUPERMAN

“One step forward…two steps back.”

Adages are common in every language. Kernels of truth and common sense wrapped in short, sweet bites that hopefully make it easier to swallow than the longer, more complicated, and/or/sometimes/maybe/painful explanations. It has been an “adage” type of day as I listen to the news and watch the world swirling around me.

“Apply your heart ot instruction and your ears to words of knowledge.” Prov 23:12

Swallowing “truth” is not always easy. In fact, if it doesn’t agree with the way we want it to be, we practically have to ram it down our throats with tons of sugary drinks as we try to make it more palatable. And sometimes – we’d rather starve than even pick up our fork. Who do we believe? Which side of the aisle will we sit on? The questions make my head spin, and I wonder if it has always been this way or whether it is just the times we live in right now?

“Buy the truth and do not sell it; get wisdom, discipline and understanding.” Prov 23:23

When I was a child things seemed so logical. After all, I had all the Superman comic books. In the 50’s, most moms were not working yet. Mine was. In the summer, I spent many lunches alone where I sat on a stack of comics piled high on my chair- primarily – Superman (my favorite – btw). Comic books became my companions as I ate whatever mom hurried home to fix before she returned to driving the local dry cleaning truck for the rest of the afternoon. “The never ending battle for TRUTH, justice, and the American way.” engrained itself into my life without any effort on my part whatsoever.

“By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established; through knowledge its rooms are filled, with rare and beautiful treasures.” Prov 24:3-4

We spend our lives trying to figure out how to live…what to wear…what to do…who to believe…what path to walk…what adages to follow…who to trust… And because we live in a world such as this, we sometimes only get one step forward before we are forced into two steps back. That is when I cling to the only truth I know exists for sure in this crazy world. A truth that I learned in Bible school during long summers of books and heroes. Better than Superman and better than any adage. A sweet promise that I found easy to swallow…even when it seems at odds with everything our society says is the “bitter truth”. I cling to these words and pray for knowledge, wisdom and discernment for the coming days in a world that seems turned upside down.

“”I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” Jn 14:6

For_truth,_justice_and_the_American_way!!!!

Leave a Reply

