Commandment Series: Prohibition of Sexual immorality

ten-commandments-400.hebrew abbrevMonday was a hard day at work.  Kids were restless.  Rainy day meant no outdoor play.  No outdoor play meant grumpy staff.  Grumpy staff meant less love is being spread around the workplace.  It was a long day.  Didn’t I talk about this yesterday?  Love started in the home radiates out to the world through us??? I guess Monday was assessment day for me.  Like the Good Teacher/Shepherd that He is, He wanted to make sure how well I understood this LOVE concept.  I probably got a 75%.  I tried.  The smile stayed in place, but the inner heart struggled.  Resentment.  Hurt.  Rant.  They all simmered slightly below the surface.  Instead of turning my face to Jehovah-Sabboth, the WORD and prayer, I made it a very long day.

“I have seen their ways, but I will heal them;
      I will guide them and restore comfort to Israel’s mourners,
      creating praise on their lips.
Peace, peace, to those far and near,”
      says the LORD. “And I will heal them.” 
— Isaiah 57:18–19

healing_flowIt’s a good thing that God has always shown forgiveness.  Adam.  Eve.  Moshe. David. Peter. Paul. Not only that, He promises to “heal”.  He is Jehovah-Rapha. He heals the person.  He heals the mindset.  He heals the ways that lead to darkness.  He heals the damaged land. He promises to dry their tears.  He offers guidance and peace to all.  Interesting concepts for the Old Testament that has so much violence and rebellion within it’s tomes.

“You shall not commit adultery.” Ex 20:14

I grew up learning this verse exactly as it is written above.  I  said to myself – “I will never be an adulterous wife.”  And lucky for me, I’ve been able to avoid that test, because if my misspent youth was any indication, I would have fallen flat on my face.  Sad to say, I was very good at retaliation when someone hurt me. Jewish wisdom and tradition expands the actual wording of this commandment hairto Sexual Immorality.  In my mind, that covers a lot more than just a wife or husband. I was a baby-boomer, coming-of-age child of the 60’s.  Peace.  Freedom.  Love. Gandhi.  King. Communes. Bra-less days.  Skinny Dipping. Drugs. Riots. Violence.  Colleges closed down.  ID’s issued.  I hit rebellion at the same time the country did.  It is little wonder that many times when I came home late at  night, I found my father on his knees.  He rarely went to church, and yet, he was my true spiritual mentor.

“To one who knows the right thing to do and does not do it, to him it is sin.” – James 4:17 NASB

Hormones or lack of hormones travel through all of us.  They are a blessing from God as we develop throughout our lives…helping us to find a mate…conceiving children…aging…  The 7th Commandment is all about control of those hormones and reactions. We have the wonderful opportunity to choose how to act and control ourselves despite those chemicals that rage through our bodies at times. Growing as a person who wants to glorify God, we can choose the path we want to take.  Obey the 7th commandment or laugh it off because it is totally out-of-date with the progressive thought within our society.  It is so simple, it is complicated.  It is a life-altering  choice.  The Good News is…Jesus Christ showed us the way.  All we have to do is choose to follow in His steps.  It’s all about choice.Choices

Leave a Reply

