Attitude of Gratitude #22

Gratitude #22: Contacts. Okay – I know – another weird one. But seriously – I am soooooooo thankful for contacts. Don’t have to worry about them fogging over. Don’t have to worry about raindrops decorating them. Don’t have to push them up my nose every 5 minutes. No line to deal with when I advanced to bi- or tri-focals. What’s not to like? Okay – Okay – believe me, I know there’s the whole dust in the eye stuff to deal with – and the slipping off to the top of the eye – and losing them down the drain…but all-in-all, I wouldn’t go back to glasses voluntarily for anything in the world. They have helped me see things more clearly than I had since fourth grade.

Third/fourth grade was when I decided that one of my classmates looked so cool in her glasses that I would get them as well. Imagine my surprise when I discovered I had to have bad eyesight to get them. Not a problem – I believed I could change that easily. All I had to do was do all those things my mom and dad told me not to do (which should have been my first clue that maybe this wasn’t such a great decision) – sit close to the TV – read in darken rooms and tell myself over and over – that my eyes needed glasses. By April of that year, I had glasses. It was my first cognitive lesson in how beliefs are internalized…and that sometimes…what we want aren’t always in our best interest.

Even with contacts, I walked in this world blindly focused with mortal eyes upon temporal things. But in allowing me this free will choice, God also opened up a door that would eventually lead to a step in faith. No longer could I see clearly without my glasses or eventually, contacts. I had to have faith that I could survive when they were broken or lost. Eventually, as I grew wiser, this Bible verse became a personal promise: “…while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.” Cor 4:18 NIV

I’ve worn contacts now for almost 50 years. And while my free will choice so long ago was not one of the better decisions I ever made – it certainly wasn’t the worst. God gently shook His head, nudged me here and there and waited patiently for me to become a little wiser. So I am – once again – thankful for the technology of contacts because – at least – I don’t have to wear glasses. Monovision contacts may make me a little dizzy (or ditzy) at times, yett they have actually helped me see my “FAITH” a little clearer than I could have without them.

contact lenses

Leave a Reply

