1of 7: JOY

joy1 or 7: JOY. “The people walking in darkness have seen a great light;
on those living in the land of deep darkness a light has dawned.” Is 9:2

JOY, JOY.JOY!!!! Darkness is pierced by a sharp ray of light at the end of my before-Christmas-have-to-complete-chore-list tunnel. JOY! Grandson’s stocking is all caught up on decorations. Fingers on the left hand are a little bruised from pushing that ol’ needle, but I have never liked using a thimble, so it is my own fault. A couple days to rest and then to work on Granddaughter’s stocking. Hard to believe that 10 days from now, it will be Christmas Eve. Didn’t Hallmark just start showing Christmas movies? JOY!

“For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” Is 9:6

JOY! Dance on the rooftop; sing to the neighbors at the top of your voice; run down the street with two yapping dogs in the lead, jump over the fallen tree blocking your way — that’s the kind of JOY I’m talking about; Nothing is impossible. Nothing is beyond hope. Nothing is beyond love. It is all about JOY! There is an old song my father used to sometimes sing to my mother after they put me to bed.

“Sugar in the morning
Sugar in the evening
Sugar at suppertime
Be my little sugar
And love me all the time”

It was often my lullabye as my eyes grew heavy and sleep crept closer. Tonight as I was writing, it popped into my head again. In fact, as the words ran through my brain and out my fingers, I realized that it had been the music runnng through my head as I typed. But this time, the voice singing was God’s and the word “sugar” was replaced by the word “JOY”..

JOY in the morning
JOY in the evening
JOY at suppertime
Be my little JOY
and love Me all the time.

I love thinking that God still wants me to be His JOY because He certainly is my JOY.

Leave a Reply

