2 of 4: PEACE.

let-there-be-peace-on-earth2 of 4: PEACE. Mom (or dad) + books + braided hair + prayers = PEACE.

Bedtimes were special in my house while I was growing up. Mom or dad would always find time to read to me. Then mom would sit on my bed, braid my hair Easter 1959while I said my prayers. If it was a really special night, she would be singing as she walked down the stairs, and as she finished up whatever chores had been pushed back until late at night. Mom was not the June Cleaver mom of the 50’s. She worked a variety of different jobs as I was growing up…store clerk – driving a dry cleaning truck and eventually – villiage clerk of Loudonville. Yet somehow, she made sure that my bedtimes were pretty PEACEFUL.

Let there be PEACE on earth
And let it begin with me.

For a myriad of reasons, there were some powerful spiritual songs that were written during the poar-war 50’s. Needless to say, mom learned and sang them all. I don’t know if mom planned it or not, but sometimes – the songs she sang as I drifted off to sleep were the little moral lessons that have guided my life. “Let There Be PEACE on Earth.” “He” “I Believe” “Some Children See Him” (Knowing mom, I think she probably did.)

Let there be PEACE on earth
The peace that was meant to be.

PEACE starts with each of us. “God as Our Father” reminded us about PEACE by sending His son. Angels sang about it. The WORD proclaimed it. PEACE exists in His kingdom. It is a choice for each of us whether it exists here. We can choose to be angry…or…we can choose to live in harmony with each of our brothers.

With God as our Father???????????????????????
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

On really special nights, dad would sing with mom or play the guitar. Their harmony was a lesson of its own. I continue to pray for harmony among brothers and sisters. I continue to pray for PEACE, harmony and “His kingdom come…”. I HOPE that you’ll join me.during this season of LOVE and JOY. Afterall – PEACE is always a choice and just a prayer away.

Leave a Reply

