New Years Eve 2014

new years eve 2014All right. 2014 trash is out the door (literally and figuratively)…check. House is clean (well…relatively)…check. Clean sheets on the bed (a Mama Mick tradition)…check. Pork ribs in the oven for a midnight snack…check. Shirmp waiting to be snatched from the freezer…check. 2015 comin’….Bring it on!

Your grace and mercy, brought me through
I’m living this moment because of You
I want to thank You, and praise You too
Your grace and mercy, brought me through

I was trying to not write anything for a week, but sometimes, I just get overruled by Someone. When you get morning devotions that suddenly appear in a magazine article; a caddie who has caddied for presidents and celebrities of all types in Pinehurst, NC,; it is hard (at least for me, anyway) to argue back by saying, “I don’ wanna…busy…got plans…seriously? Today? Do I havta?”.

Thank You, for saving a sinner like me
To tell the world salvation is free
There were times when I just didnt do right
But You watched over me
All day and night

This summer as I battled through a rather extended illness, I wondered about a lot of things. Why me? Why now? Is this the way the golden years start? Who wants to hang out with a gimp? Will I ever feel like me again? Typical questions that slide in under the radar when the battle is on. We like to think that illness is just a “physical” battle. But I tend to think, illness is more spiritual than anything else. The evil one finds that weaken space between the body and the spirit and starts the real battle. Choosing to re-enforce that battle line with prayer and time in the WORD was, perhaps, the hardest thing I have ever attempted and yet – was one of the greatest lessons I’ve ever learned.

Justice demanded, that I should die
But grace and mercy said oh, no, oh, no, oh no, we’ve already paid the price
I once was blind, but thank God I can see
It was because grace and mercy came along and rescued me

It is time to look at my Gratitude list that I wrote in November. It is time to remember 2014 for all the blessings and lessons learned. It is time to look up at the midnight sky and say, “Thank You, Father, I can’t wait to see where you take me in 2015….well…with maybe just one caveat…can we please skip the illness part this time???” I am, afterall, still human…kinda…maybe… Happy New Year to all and to all a Blessed New 2015.

“Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice. Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand. Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Phil 4: 4-7

One response to “New Years Eve 2014

  1. Extended illness definitely takes its toll all around. But it strengthens us all the same – whether we call it psychological, emotional, or spiritual. Hope 2015 is better for both of us!

Leave a Reply

