God’s Message

text-message_2459303b“Now faith is the conviction concerning those things that are in hope, as if it were these things in action, and the revelation of those things that are unseen;”
Hebrews 11:1 APE

Today my youngest son was used to deliver a message. He didn’t realize it, but sometimes, that is just the way God works. Last night, I started writing about how hard it seems to be for me to memorize Bible verses. But I was tired. Words weren’t coming easy. And, in my considerable wisdom, I wondered who in the world needed to read about that anyway. Apparently somebody.does because my son tagged me in a post about memorizing Bible verses and BANG! I felt God’s gentle laughter in my head. So guess what I am writing about today?

“For by faith we understand that the worlds were fashioned by the word of God, and these things that are seen came into being out of those things which are unseen.” Heb 1:3 APE

When I was little, we didn’t really memorize many Bible verses. I do remember memorizing a few for a Bibles school program, and I wrote lots of them. When Mom would tuck me in at night, we would always say The LORD’s Prayer and the God blesses. Eventually, I added more. After Daddy had his first heart attack, I memorized the 23rd Psalm. That whole valley-in-the-shadow-of-death had taken on a whole new meaning at that point. Later, in membership class, I learned the Niocene creed which I added as well. Sometimes, Mom would finish braiding my hair and fall asleep before I was done with prayers. (Driving a drycleaning truck was hard work in those days.) And then – for some strange reason – that particular talent quit functioning in my brain.

I can still memorize just about anything. Poetry, Song lyrics. Monologues. Dialoges. Dance steps. But Bible verses? Not so much. And I have absolutely no idea why. I will spend hours working on A (meaning one) verse (On line, I’ve been using Scripture Typer). I will remember it for a week or two and then it’ll be gone. It literally drives me nuts. I tend to remember fragments of the verse – enough to find it, but not the whole thing. I worked on the Beatitudes a few times, and still I can only bumble my way through them. Yet – I can still recite the Declaration of Natural Rights – verbatim, I might add – that I learned 40+ years ago. UGH!

“Therefore, we also, who have all of these witnesses who surround us like clouds, let us throw off from us all the weights of the sin which is always ready for us, and let us run with patience this race that is set for us.” Heb 2:1 APE

So tonight, I am looking at this new site that my son sent me and wondering if I should put it on my phone. I rarely use my phone for anthying other than a lower-your-cell-phone-billcommunication device. Talking. Texting. Got that. The whole “life-is-my-phone” thing still elludes me – although – I do like having a book or two and a few tunes when I am stuck someplace waiting for the hubby or babysitting the Grands after they are in bed.

Memorizing the WORD is important to me. Mom developed macular degeneration by the time she was in her late 70’s. I think about that more than I care to admit and get tested for it every year. Sometimes, she would ask me to read to her. I would bring new books, but often we would read the Bible. She would get this smile on her face when we came to a verse she knew by heart. Everytime, it brought comfort and a lot of that “Mickey” confidence back into her eyes.

Reading the WORD is good. Gaining wisdom from the WORD is a blessing. Knowing the WORD  in your heart is powerful because it becomes a part of you. That being said…I am not giving up!!! As soon as I post this, I’m hitting the BOOK again. “…faith is the conviction concerning those things that are in hope…”

“And let us gaze at Yeshua, him who is The Author and The Perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was his, endured the cross and ignored the shame, and he sits upon the right side of the throne of God.” Heb 2:2 APE

Verses

Leave a Reply

