POP GOES MY HEART

226_5It’s one of those silly nights. I spent the afternoon making a wreck of my daughter’s house by creating a multitude of hanging, spiraling snakes, strings of family hand-drawn pictures, add in an additional hand puppet or three (cootie catches to all you former friends and students) and you kinda of have a picture in your mind. So tonight needed to be a night just to relax. A glass of wine. A little cheese. A few olives and nuts (no, I’m not talking about hubby – he’s already asleep on the couch). Pop goes my heart, and I am ready for movie night.  I enjoy fun movies. Ones that make me smile. No deep thought-out themes on good vs evil. No serious contemplations in characters analysis. No reality based plot. Just a little music – a tiny plot – a few laughs.

The kids laugh at me. No Cloud. No Netflix. No Apple TV. Not even my Roku. When I want a movie night, I pull out my favorite DVD’s, turn up the BOSE video wave TV so that the bass reverberates in my head (don’t worry the hubby sleeps through it all), turn down the lights, push back the recliner and smile contentedly (after one of my giant choc labs finally gets comfortable on my lap). I love my home theatre. Love my labs.  Love the snoring hubby.  Music carries me to fantasy land and reality doesn’t reach me for awhile.

It is good to think that there were nights when Christ kicked back with his friends and just relaxed. After all – He (and we) are made in His Father’s image, right? I’m sure there were times when He needed a break from deep thoughts…serious contemplations…and I’m positive that since He knew the Father (Jn 14:4), He knew the reality of His future all too well. Friday night was Sabbath, and Rabbi Yeshua followed the Jewish traditions and laws of His Father.

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them.” ~Matt 5;17

Family. Food. Wine. Relax. Get on a boat. Sit under the stars. Tell a few stories. Can you imagine listening to the stories told by such a rabbi? Pop goes my heart as I wonder if Our Father came down to the garden on Friday evenings – before the gates were locked – and told stories to his beautiful new children. Can you imagine that!?!?! Listening to a story told by the author of all creation??? Maybe it is in our nature to want to push the world out of our way on the Sabbath and to remember what life could be like if we actually prayed the “Our Father Prayer” the way it was intended…

“…on earth as it is in Heaven…” ~Matt 6:10b

Sabbath Friday. Sitting in a garden. Eating a little cheese. Sharing a glass of wine with our close friends. Under the stars. Watching a movie created just for us by the author of life Himself. I could (to utilize an old 60’s term from my past) – I could really dig that!!!

Tomorrow, I will stretch my mind a little more. Tomorrow, I will read the WORD a little more. Tomorrow, I will pray a little more Tomorrow, I will watch the news and trust God a little more. But tonight, I am enjoying the Sabbath and someday soon – maybe the cherubim will lower their swords, unlock the gates and we can truly worship on the Sabbath the way it was intended  “Pop Goes My Heart”, a silly song that opened my eyes and heart tonight to the One who love us best.

“ ‘Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
And forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,a
but deliver us from the evil one. ’~ Matt 6:9-

13

Leave a Reply

