I BELIEVE

Believe-1Today was a day of contrasts. The kid who has spent the past two days in melt-down mode found the laughter button. Warm sunshine played hide and seek with rain-heavy, dark clouds. A secular world intrusion into my day made me smile while a spiritual world experience brought tears. It is Wednesday. Hump day. Half of my work week is complete. I can start looking forward to the Grands coming for their 2nd overnight stay, and (once they are gone) finishing the painting of the master bedroom. Play and work. Meditation and activity. Silence and music. Books and writing. Tom Hanks and the Newsboys. For a gemini, it is a perfect day.

“Listen, you heavens, and I will speak; hear, you earth, the words of my mouth. Let my teaching fall like rain and my words descend like dew, like showers on new grass, like abundant rain on tender plants.” Deut 32:1-2 This lenten journey has not felt like previous years, and I’m not sure why. I finished my lenten devotional. Still reading others. Watching the skies. But instead of going quickly the time seems to be dragging, and I keep wanting it say, “Hurry up, will you?” It feels more like Christmas when I was a kid. Waiting. Expectation. Breathless. Impatient. Thinking that the darkness would never pass. Maybe it is all the crazy things going on in the world, Maybe it is all the signs in do-you-believethe earth that seem to be replicating passages in the Bible. Maybe it is all the movies, music and books that seem to be shouting the name of G-d to the whole world. Roma Downy, not content to just do movies shouting His holiness, is planning a new version of “Touched by an Angel” TV show for next September. Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.” Jn 13:7 We never know what lies ahead; it is only in hindsight that we see the road plainly. We walk our paths. Share our gifts. Raise our families. Pray for our families, others and ourselves. Stumble over rocks during our testing periods and bandage the bloody parts until they heal. I don’t understand why I awake expectantly every day or go to sleep with one eye looking out the window. I don’t know why I feel like I need to read more and more and more. I don’t know why I cry almost everytime I hear the song, “We Believe” by the Newsboys. I just know that I do and my heart is soaring higher every day. I believe. [google images and Akiane’s artwork]   Faithfulness_by_Akiane
Leave a Reply

