LINKS

hand of God“Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” ~Psalm 90:12

It is holy week. 7 days from Saturday to Golgotha. 24 hours times 7. Approximately, 10,000 minutes to gain wisdom.

I started numbering my days last night. Shabbat a time with familly, friends, food, grandma mickey treasuresand Our Father started at sundown. Grands watched TWO Ice Age movies (sssshhhh…it’s a secret from mama and daddy) and giggled and laughed and jabbered. On this first day, it became a Grandma Mickey day. A day to dig into the “dress-up” chest – full of fancy hats, long gloves, jewelry and the softest coat imaginable. The coat that used to wrap around me much in the same way it wrapped around the Grands today. A comfort in strange bedrooms, in cold churches during long choir rehearsals and in the backseat of a car as we traveled home from family outings. I rubbed my face into the fur (much as I did when I was tiny) before I carried it into the next room to wrap it around the granddaughter….who proceded to bury her face in the softness. I could almost smell her perfume in the folds.

“Choose my instruction instead of silver,
knowledge rather than choice gold,” Prov 8:10

While Grandson played with one set of beads, long enough to create a sash of power on his tiny body and a power crystal ring that vanquished the “evil” Koayiyah from attacking us, the other one decorated Papa with rings, neckaces, pins and even a “Peter Pan Snood” that Grandma Mickey made for dressy occasions like singing with a band or dancing with Grandpa Mike (btw – I still have the 1940 pattern). Passing on our heritage…creating new memories for a future generation…a small link in a long chain.

“…for wisdom is more precious than rubies,
and nothing you desire can compare with her.” ~Prov 8:10-11

Today, the special jewels were on a compact that Grandma Mickey had carried for special occasions. The smell of the 1940 Elign American powder slightly lingers in thin powder puff. Granddaughter rubbed it everywhere on herself and on Papa’s feet. What I didn’t tell her is that I had rubbed that same puff under my nose just before I gave it to her. Just before the parents arrived, the Grands pulled out the old IQ game that I had spent hours playing with my parents and by myself. Another link in the chain.

So many years later the links are still strongly joined to the chain. The material things are merely a physical touchstone of the essence of the knowledge and wisdom passed on from one generation to another. A myriad of stories woven together with threads of facts and faith.

“Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” ~Matt 28:20

Rabbi Yeshua numbered His days during this holy week. I0,000 minutes to share as much as he could squeeze into these last 7 days on earth. He told stories. He pushed. He prodded. He provided links to help those He loved so that they could hold on to the wisdom He had sought to share. Those links still exists – on the earth – in the heavens – linking us – disciple to disciple – one to another – His family – from generation to generation.

(google images)

Leave a Reply

