GLORIOUS UNFOLDING

As I watch the news posts today, see the anger rising all around, I recognize ovalit…history does repeat itself. I remember walking around the OSU campus my freshman year…watching news in the making, seeing the anger rising all around, and thanks to some great educators and wise parents – I recognized it then and walked away.

“For I, the Lord, love justice;
I hate robbery and wrongdoing…”

It is hard to watch it happening again. For a few weeks after 9/11, I remember eagle_flag_facethinking that we, as a nation, had turned a corner. Churches were full. People talked about God and America in the same sentence. Flags flew high over every home, business and school. Patriotic songs bubbled out of radios and TV shows. But within a month, I felt a heaviness returning, and – surprisingly – it carried a darkness that I had not seen since walking that college campus so many years prior, and I became uneasy. It was then I turned a corner and got more serious in the WORD.

“In my faithfulness I will reward my people
and make an everlasting covenant with them….”

Almost 15 years ago. Hard to believe. It has not been an easy journey – then again – what spiritual journey is? The bumps were/are hard; the knees raw and filled with the stony grit that evil spreads along our path. When you turn to the WORD, inevitably, the evil one notices and tries to intercept. I looking back at it now, I see his fingerprints throughout it all. Yet –  in the midst of chaos – it is always hard to keep my focus on the Light seen dimly ahead, so I repeat His Promises over and over – one step forward – all forward – stand up – following the Light of His Promises.

“Their descendants will be known among the nations
and their offspring among the peoples.
All who see them will acknowledge
that they are a people the Lord has blessed…”

imagesThe chaos is increasing and by all indications – will continue to increase. But as I watch the saddness in Nepal, the anger in the Middle East and America, it is good to remember Our Father’s promises. He has never forsaken a promise. He never changes. He continually reaches out for us. He sent His Son and the Holy Spirit to pave the way back to Him. He is I AM. He is His promises.  He is a Glorious Unfolding.

“For as the soil makes the sprout come up
and a garden causes seeds to grow,
so the Sovereign Lord will make righteousness
and praise spring up before all nations.” ~Is 61:8,9,11

Sad as it is. Scary as it is. I will sleep well tonight. His promises – the comforter that enfolds me. His love – the lullabye that gently closes my eyes. His Son and angels stand guard through the night and listen to my prayers for His peace and righteousness to bless our land – all lands around the earth – our families – all families around the earth…as it was in the days of The Garden…proclaiming to all – “….on Earth as it is in Heaven…”

Leave a Reply

