May Day

bible verse“Tin soldiers and Nixon coming,
We’re finally on our own.
This summer I hear the drumming,
Four dead in Ohio.” Neil Young of CSNY

Usually, I don’t take much notice of this time of year, But this year, it is as if I am reading Jane Roberts/Seth once again.  If you don’t remember that 70’s throwback, she basically channeled an entity named Seth that said all time is concurrent and constantly in motion.  Today it feels like that; where past and present are forming concentric circles with many layers of the same hatreds, chants and evil at its core. My heart aches as it did 45 years ago. and all I wanted was it to go away.  Instead, just like I did in 1970, I wait, read, watch and listen.OSU riots collage

(Above picture is hard to see, but I think  you get the point from the one headline)

“You shall not judge, lest you be judged. For with the judgment that you judge, you will be judged, and with the measure that you measure, it will be measured to you.” Matt 7:1-2 (ABPE)

In the spring of 1970, I often stood on the Oval of OSU waiting, debating with friends, listening, watching, reading whatever du jour literature was available. Sometimes it was the war – feminism – gay rights – abortion – racism – capitalism…(it was a long list of protests). The fact that even some of the names remain the same in today’s protests- although some have become the capitalists they once decried – others are still agitating from one city after another wherever they can find a crisis – gives rise to the memories that circle round and round.declaration of natural rights

(You might not be able to read this poster I made in 19970, but it was the Declation of Natural Rights)

“Why do you notice a chip that is in your brother’s eye, and you do not observe the plank that is in your own eye? Or how do you say to your brother, ‘Let me cast out the chip from your eye’, and behold, a plank is in your eye? Hypocrite! First cast out the plank from your eye, and then you will see to cast out the chip from your brother’s eye.” Matt 7:3-5

Parts of this Matthew 7 decorated my Norton Hall room at OSU. I had collages me - spring break 1970hanging everywhere, decorated with poetry, the WORD and news clippings. I think it was my way fo trying to sort all the categories of conflicting feelings and tumbling knowledge in order to find the wisdom in the chaos (although I’m pretty sure “that girl” who I was then would have laughed at that one – she probably thought it was just a “far out” thing to make her room “cool”.)

Shortly after May 4th, OSU closed for a week. We packed up and went home. Mom and Dad didn’t ask many questions except to say they trusted my judgement. Dad had already had two heart attacks, so I was quiet as well. We went to church on Sunday and a week later returned to campus. ID’s required. We pulled up to the street cloest to the dorm only to be greeted by a policeman who told us we would have to park a far distance away. Dad politely asked for directions and reached out to shake the man’s hand.

“Ask and it will be given to you, seek and you will find, knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it is opened.” Matt 7:7-8

spring 1970Only later, when I was brave enough to ask how dad managed that one, did I learn that there was something about the Marines and Masons revealed in a simple handshake that had the policeman putting a tag on our car so that we could actually drive right up to the dorm to unload. He also quoted a Bible verse to me. Matt 7:7 as we maurie casey and john evens 1970walked into the dorm. I went on to finish up my classes in good form, sang in a choir concert on my birthday, argued with my tenor boyfriend of the moment over the whole protest movement (he didn’t sing in the concert as an act of protest) and started reading a Taylor Caldwell book which was written in 1955: Your Sins and Mine. Little did I know that I would be re-reading that book 45 years later, and that the concentric circles would be gyrating faster and faster.

“If therefore you who are evil know to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in Heaven give good things to those who ask him?” Matt 7:11

(google image and personal photos)taylor caldwell

Leave a Reply

