Sanctuary 2015

mothers day 2015 b“When I tried to understand all this,
it troubled me deeply…”

When I read this Bible verse today, it caught me. I continue to read and re-read because it holds so much truth for me today. There is just so much about life we don’t understand. Why our loved ones have to die long before we truly understand how important they are to our lives. Why our children grow up way long before we are ready for them to soar out of our everyday lives. Or even – why doesn’t everyone think the way we do? That is probably the most vexing, right?

“till I entered the sanctuary of God;
then I understood their final destiny.” — Psalm 73:16–17

mother day 2015aThen there are weekends like this one. Weekends that remind me where my true sanctuary lies. Long talks with the Grands curled into my arms as we play tic-tac-toe with hearts and angels. “Face” time and yakky calls with the grown kid-lets over the thousands of miles between us. Hugs and laughter from the newly “mastered” daughter. A single rose from the garden that my hubby put in glass to bless our table. A large double peony from my mama’s garden transplanted from OH to NC which bloomed for the very first time this weekend. It is His Sanctuary…the family…a mobile sanctuary that He created for us; to help us endure the turmoil created by our own free will.

This weekend, (just by chance? I think not. Thank you, Father.),I started a new images (1)devotional by Mark Batterson, Praying Circles Around the Lives of your Children. The funny thing is – that the more I read it, the more I realize that it isn’t just about praying circles around your children. It is about praying circles around all those that are in your family circle…and your extended family circle…and in your extended- extended family circle…and even – for your extended heavenly family circle. Mothers, Fathers, Grandmothers, Grandfathers, Aunts, Uncles, Cousins, Steps, bio or adopted, friends, pets……….

“Truly, I say to you, whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.” Matt ~18:18

1951Today was a special day. Not because it had an official title declared by Congress. Not because of the gifts (although an xoxox typerwriter bracelet, fresh fruit and flowered book bags are, indeed, treats that I treasure). It is rather, the voices on the other end of a phone, the hand-written card/blog/statuses, the mama flower that bloomed it’s fragrance once again, a single rose, each individual effort that reachs out and binds our familial circle a little tighter here on earth and in heaven.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everyt situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Phil 4:6-7

My sanctuary stands firmly upon its foundational rock tonight. It cradles me as I pray and binds my prayers around those I love. Those things that were troubling me, trouble me no longer for I understand the final destiny has already been beheld by the One who created us all and my soul basks in that perfect LOVE. Needless to say, I am feeling humbled and blessed.

Leave a Reply

