65TH YEAR FIRST STEP

img821

Somehow – this day got away from me. Then again – it sometimes feels as if my life as gotten away from me as well. After all – how did 64 years go by so quickly? But -that being said – my first step into my 65th year couldn’t have been any better….even though my family is spread across most of this giant country. OH – MI – CO – AZ …everywhere but NC. Seems like it should have been a rough day, doesn’t it? After all, what is a birthday without someone to celebrate it with? Yet – it has turned out to be a day totally blessed and up-lifted by the people and events Our Father has placed in my life. Almost every hour brought some new, tiny blessing to fill my day with joy and bring me peace.

Of course – there is something special about a “birth” day when it starts off in 1 mo Bryniechurch. I totally love early services because it starts my Sunday – and in this case – my birthday with so many blessings. Actually my day started with a FB msg from the youngest son wishing me happy, happy at 12:45 AM. Needless to say – I was asleep, but it did make me laugh when I saw it later because my mom used to do the same thing. She would call way early in the morning just to be the first one to sing happy birthday to me.

img012A little garden time – a little rummaging around in the photo albums and I found my baby book. I was born at 4 A.M. on a Thursday morning. Baby footprints. Stats written in a strange hand. 20″. 8lbs 11 oz. Mom liked to tell the story of grabbing the gas out of the nurse’s hand (watch the BBC series, Call the Midwife, if you don’t understand the gas thing) and get the img013“hell out of the way” so she could kick this huge pain out into the world. I know that there were a few times throughout our lives together that she would have liked some more gas to block the pain. Such is the way our family journeys work sometimes. I may have been the miracle child that she wasn’t ever supposed to have, but I wasn’t always an easy blessing. It is also what made her my greatest prayer warrior.

me in the middle and Grandma MacI’ve been following Mom’s 1955 journal this year. Knowing that it was exactly 60 years ago when I was walking into my 5th year of life, makes it fascinating to me. We still lived in a small little house at 218 Campbell Street. It is amazing how I still can see that house in my mind. She painted my room and listed all my gifts in tiny cursive writing. Cousins Bunny and Mike came to play. Big Jr Hi brother gave me 1 dollar as did my Grandma Mac. Simpler times.

This year was simple in a different way. Garden time – church – clean the car – play with the dogs – answer messages – talk to friends – eat some steak – shrimp – and a hot fudge malt to celebrate. Celebrations of birthdays are always different depending on the season of our life. I loved my first step into my 65th year and now wonder – where will this new path lead me this year? Wherever it leads, I know that Our Father’s providence has already seen it, and all I have to do is have enough faith to take each step in His Grace.and Light. Not always easy – but always worth it.

“1HAPPY IS the man that hath not walked in the counsel of the wicked,
Nor stood in the way of sinners,
Nor sat in the seat of the scornful.
2But his delight is in the law of the LORD;
And in His law doth he meditate day and night.
3And he shall be like a tree planted by streams of water,
That bringeth forth its fruit in its season,
And whose leaf doth not wither;
And in whatsoever he doeth he shall prosper.” Ps 1:1-3Bryn 1 yr

Leave a Reply

