SWEET AS HONEY

honeyrock_mast_draft_jjj1When a storm rolls through in the middle of the night, I want to open my mouth and wait for the sweet drops to wet my tongue. NC doesn’t seem to get as many thunderboomers as OH. To all my OH friends who are expecting the coming “derecho” (who knew there was such a word) and have been swamped with lots of rainy days this summer, I KNOW that you would miss them as well. Strange – the way storms weave into our lives and world. Their power and whirlwind appearance alter the pattern of our day-to-day lives and sometimes – reshape the entire landscape.

“Sing for joy to God our strength;
shout aloud to the God of Jacob!” Ps 81:1

Last night I stretched my ears awake to listen for the patter of the rain as the thunder and lightening pulled me from my sweet dreams. If it is a hard rain, it rattles the the tin spouts in our washroom, and I curl into the sound, close my eyes and let the wind pushing through the trees shush me back to sleep. If it is a softer rain, like it was last night, I’m glad that the window is open a crack, so I can hear the drops hit the soft dirt and plants of the garden that is right outside our bedroom window. It is the soft line of notes drifting through my window, accompanied by the fading booms and the crackling light that sang me back to sleep.

“Begin the music, strike the timbrel,
play the melodious harp and lyre.” v.2

Rain is good. Even storms are good, although we may not like them much at the time. They’re hard to drive through without white knuckles. They rip parts of our safe little world and leave them littering our life. I’ve found that once their initial force has torn open upon my world, I finally open my eyes and begin to see the blessings they dropped around me. Grass is greener. Veggies and flowers begin to grow taller. Seeds sprout. Trees radiate happiness around me. There is a whole line of metaphors that I could plant in this paragraph. But what is important is that I have seen the wisdom of the storm, and why God choose this precise time to send it into my world.

“I am the Lord your God,
who brought you up out of Egypt.
Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.” v.10

How Our Father knows what we need before WE even know it, always amazes me. Why He knows a storm is needed in our world when that is the last thing we think we need, also rocks me. I think this is because I am still working on my faith. It is still at the stage where I say to myself that “I believe in God” instead of saying “I believe God”.
Catch the difference?
It’s a tiny one.
One tiny word.
Prepositions are such little words, and yet – they can change the entire meaning of a phrase or sentence. When I walk into a storm, I believe “in” God instead of “believing” God in totality. Often, thunder ricochets off my eardrums and hail pelts my head before I let myself absorb the sweet wisdom behind it all.

“But you would be fed with the finest of wheat;
with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.” v. 16

“…honey from the rock…” Last night night during the storm, these four words dripped back into my drowsy mind. How DO YOU get honey from a rock?. Why dadeea4f7a4bbcfb451961842d2fe656would David write that?
He could have been writing historically about the Rock of Miriam that traveled with the Israelites in the desert. Wherever the tribe stopped in their 40 year journey, sweet water would gush from the rock and ease their thirst.
But last night, it seemed to me he was writing metaphorically.
Storms roll through our lives. They wreak havoc all around us. They can totally destroy the path we are on and the shelter where we felt the safest. But it is then that we must “Believe God”. Trust the wisdom hidden within the storm. Believe the sweetness that lies hidden under the hardness of its covering.

Sweet, isn’t it?

And if this group isn’t sweet, I don’t know what is. I want to sing with them now!!

[google images]

Leave a Reply

