MONDAY

content“1A Psalm of Thanksgiving. Shout to Jehovah, all the earth.”

It’s Monday.

A back-to-work day.
A drag-myself-out-of-bed day.
A first-day-without-Aleve-in-over-a-year day.
A day to humble myself and give thanks.

“2Serve Jehovah with joy, come before him with singing.”

Today, NC is having a break in the heat – in fact – this whole week is supposed to be beautiful. Rain is nearby but not close enough, so – per my usual whiny self – I am praying for more. Yet, even in this seemingly small thing, I know that God has got this. Hummingbirds dart in and around our windows. They sit on the fennel stalks and peek in the window. They don’t worry about how much rain has fallen. They are thankful for what is. I know what I “think” is best. But God – – – – God “KNOWS” what is best. So I sit here tonight in my comfy chair, with an eye half on the tv and half on the computer screen, dogs sleeping at my feet, hubby sleeping on the courch, and I am thinking about just how much I have to learn.

“3Know that Jehovah He [is] God, He made us, and we are His, His people — and the flock of His pasture.”

Today, the Grands came over, and per usual, we read the comics. The past few months, they have been trying to figure out the humor in newspaper comics. These days, I often join them in that pursuit. Comics are not the same “haha” funny that they were when I was growing up. At least – that is the way I remember it. Today, however, we discovered “air quotes” and that was funny to all of us…especially since their mama was here to laugh with us.

“4Enter ye His gates with thanksgiving, His courts with praise, Give ye thanks to Him, bless ye His Name.”

Today is a day of Thanks-Giving for me. It is a day, to put aside my petty self and enter the “war room” of prayer.

A peace-beyond-understanding day. (phil 4:7)
A “faith-living-by-grace” day. (ep 2:8)
A “on-my-knees-groaning-in-the-spirit” day (rm 8:26)

5For good [is] Jehovah, to the age His kindness, And to generation and generation His faithfulness! ~ Ps 100

Today, I didn’t have to take Aleve. Today, I didn’t have to use “air quotes” to talk with those I love. Today, I didn’t have to dry any tears over Common Core practices. Today, I am entering my war room and giving thanks to My Father and His Son who is the ultimate prayer warrior. Blessings!Be!

[images: BabyBlues comicstrip]

Leave a Reply

