BECAUSE HE LOVES ME

jerusalem blood moon 9 15It has rained for four days, counting today.The clouds continue to roll over the NC skies bringing the steady showers and cooler temperatures. Overall, it was a good weekend to be stuck inside, blowing my nose, coughing up ugly stuff, and whining. Luckily, the hubby was almost as sick as I was, so we managed to commiserate together through most of it without driving each other crazy.
What really was bugging me the most was that I obviously would not get to see the 4th Blood Moon. I didn’t get to see the 1st – the 2nd – – OR the 3rd Blood Moon for the same reason – – – – –  dratted cloudy skies!!! I was totally in mope mode, and I wasn’t about to try to eradicate. I wanted to just blow my nose a little louder, sink a little deeper into the chair and feel sorry for myself.
Sick.
Constant rain.
Cloudy.
Dark…dreay…yukky weekend.
Couldn’t go to church, so I forced myself to dig into a devotional. Didn’t feel like doing my Beth Moore bible study, so I turned to a video on Jewish traditions that  I had put off watching all week. Yesterday was the beginning of Sukkot or Feast of the Tabernacles and, of course, another Blood Moon that would happen on a Jewish holy day.
I love reading about Jewish feasts and fesitvals because they are full of stories about family and friends gathering to eat, share and rejoice in the gifts of Our Father. I have friends that do this every Friday night. Even though they are Jesus followers, they celebrate the same way Rabbi Yeshua did when He walked this earth. I love that idea.
When my children were little, we did this without realizing it was somehow written in our DNA. Friday night was pizza night. Soda pop came out of the closet (a real celebration of the no-sugar rule). Friends would materialize to celebrate the work week’s end. Bed times and chores postponed, so that board games, cards or makeshift theatre productions could be enjoyed before prayers whispered together by sleepy kids and parents.
“Because he loves Me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him;
I will protect him, for he acknowledges My name.”
Yesterday, I found this promise, and an unreasonable hope began to build. I had whispered a frustrated prayer earlier in the morning that I just wanted one glimpse of the Blood Moon. After all – one out of 4 wasn’t asking too much, was it? (I tend to grump at Our Father sometimes) As the day grew darker so had my mood. That is – until my Bible revealed this promise. Amazing how that works. Suddenly, my mood changed.
As silly as it sounds, I found myself going outside in the rain and looking at the clouds. Around 8 P.M., I walked outside once again. I knew approximately where the moon should be. There was, at first, nothing but dark clouds. I kept looking. A cloud ribbon emerged on the horizon and started reflecting a bright white. I told God that really wasn’t what I wanted and went back inside. I told myself I was silly, but inside, the Bible verse echoed. “Because he loves Me…”
“He will call on Me, and I will answer him;”
Off and on, I continued to roam outside. Hope was building to the place where I was almost doubt free at times – and yet – there was nothing. Around 11, a friend wrote me that she was outside enjoying a clear view of the red orb, and I knew that the time was now. I walked outside. There was a brightness where I knew the moon probably was and slowly – the Blood Moon appeared. Anyone who knows me knows that tears and prayers were simultaneously erupting from my soul and spilling out into the physical world around me.
He had heard my silly little prayer. It certainly wasn’t going to change my faith if I didn’t see an eclipse of a super moon, after all it isn’t a strange occurance (although 4 consecutive eclipses happening exactly on 4 high holy days in the Jewish religion is rather rare). However, it changed the depth of my faith in God’s promises.
He listens.
 
He answers.
 
He cares about the tiny things in our ives as well as the big things
There must of been a thin layer of clouds somewhere up there because the Blood Moon was never sharply defined, but it was far more than “the glimpse” thaI I had requested. I sat for 45 minutes or more and watched the sliver of white on the side of the moon grow wider as the eclipse began to end. My sleepy head leaned back on the top of the chair and the different tones of several of my wind chimes lulled me into His peace just a little more.
Because I love Him, He broke the clouds. He revealed my heart’s desire, and gave me —– oh —– so much more than a glimpse………
A promise made long ago, became a tiny miracle just for me.
A blessing to grow my faith.
A blessing I am passing on to you.
“I will be with him in trouble,
I will deliver him and honor him.
With long life I will satisfy him
and show him my salvation.” Ps 91 14-16
[image of Blood Moon over Israel]
Leave a Reply

