BLESSINGS TRIAD #10-12

thanksgiving2A TENTH BLESSING OF THANKSGIVING

“I will sing the LORD a new song –
To praise Him-
To bless Him –
To bless the LORD –
I will sing His praises while I live
All of my days.” – Simple Song from Bernstien’s Mass

Today, November 10, 2015, I am thankful for a new day. A new day to sing a song to my LORD. A new day to offer praise that bubbles over in Joy. A new day in my walk of faith, stumbling over rocks others have place in my path and falling into pits that I have dug myself. A new day to pull myself upright once again and stand upon His rock. A new day to bless Him with all that is in me. A new day to gaze upon all that is around me. A new day of reflection, gleaning wisdom where I can. A new day to bend my knees (as painful as it is at times) and wonder, “I Can Only Imagine”. A new day in Christ who has forgiven me over and over and over…..

“Lauda, lauda, laude, lauda, lauda di da di day
All of my days……”

A ELEVENTH BLESSING OF THANKSGIVINGl721flag

“…the LORD Almighty says: ‘Return to me,’… ‘and I will return to you,…’ Do not be like your ancestors…”

Today is one of those days that warm my heart. The posts supporting our current and past veterans brought a smile to my face and tears to my heart. I love looking at my father’s photos from his time in China during WWII. I love looking at the pictures of my uncles and the elders of the small rural town where I grew up.

daddy 1945 (2)The “Greatest Generation” are the men and women that set a standard before me as they wove the stories of their lives into my mind around the Thanksgiving table. They are the ones that showed up for every volunteer community program – built youth buildings, led scout troops, played Santa, inspired my brother, cousins and classmates to serve our country as well.

Today has been one of the few areas where our country appears to still be united. For the most part – on this one issue – we are not Hyphenated Americans. For this one day, I am thankful to feel that rare concept that used to be the fabric of our everyday life: We are all Americans – united.

This was the miracle of the day. God granted me a second miracle of the day as well. I got to play with the Grands all morning. Teach a little piano. Teach a little math (see, God, I got the hint). Walk the land with the pups and get home to find a third miracle – God has already answered a prayer – in an “impossible” manner, natch (as my mom would say) – that had been at the back of my mind all day.

Today, November 11, 2015, I am thankful for 3 miracles. God is moving. Believe. Blessings!Be!

“…this is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘Turn from your evil ways and your evil practices.’ “…”Proclaim further: This is what the Lord Almighty says: ‘My towns will again overflow with prosperity, and the Lord will again comfort Zion and choose Jerusalem.’ ”~Zech 1:3a, 4b, 17

A TWELFTH BLESSING OF THANKSGIVING

“We gather together to ask the LORD’s blessing…”

2 weeks from today will be Thanksgiving. The football games will still be on the TV. In many homes, the bellies will be way over-filled. In others, the bellies will be112913turkeydinners-1p - Copy a little fuller than usual. Churches or community centers will be cleaning up after feeding many of homeless and heading home. Cell phones and/or video games will be whirling away in hands of children and adults alike. People will be crowding into the theatre to see the newest release. Others, like the family I married into, will probably be still playing cards. While Christmas music and movies will appear on a more regular basis – except for Hallmark station which is already playing them non-stop. And some overly excited shoppers will be adding to their personal debt, supplynng more totals of early “Black Friday” stats.

1671301-slide-inline-norman-rockwell-freedom-from-want-thanksgivingIt just makes me sad. Somewhere, our culture has lost the history behind the day. I still remember when every story, gas station, and banks were closed on a holyday. For that matter, they were closed every Sunday. The roads were empty unless you had gas in the tank and wanted to visit family or just go for a drive. I don’t remember the TV being on at any of our Thanksgivings until I was in high school. After all – it was cousin time. Games to be played. Plays to produce. Music to sing and elders that sat around playing guitars and banjos. It was Thanksgiving. People remembered.

I was lucky. I grew up in a family that knew history and told stories. I wasn’t wise enough to always listen. My brother was much wiser that way. But thanks to a couple of marvelous history teachers, including my dad, I learned the basics and began adding to those as I grew wiser. History points the way if we are smart enough to remember.

Today, November 12, 2015, I am thankful for Thanksgiving. A day set aside to remember. A day when two different races — two different cultures — sat down to eat a meal together. Each honoring their Creator. Each coming from a differnt space and finding each other. For a moment in time, the gates of the Garden were thrown wide open, so that we might learn and remember how to give thanks to the One that breathed into our nostrils the breath of life. It is time to remember.

Blessings!Be!

[google images]

Leave a Reply

