25 NAMES OF CHRISTMAS – ROCK

I stubbed my toe today on a rock, but I smiled through my tears. You see, there is an upside to this tiny tidbit of information that nobody really needs to know or care anything about – it is December 10th, and – cuz I’m outside in my barefeet, I get to stub a toe. How cool is that?

10031741_s

This has been a week for being outside and dreaming. Hubby and I are driving our eldest daughter crazy (once again) because we’ve just turned a 180 in our fast pace forward into our journey for a new home – well – maybe – kinda – please G-d hopefully – as we continue to seek that piece of rock we need to settle our butts for the next few years.

“There is no one holy like the LORD, Indeed, there is no one besides You, Nor is there any Rock like our G-d.”~1 Sam 2:2

5387712175_be36b0393fI’m calling it our 40 day journey into a rock based covenant so that I don’t have to do this again. I am not a mover. I love curling my toes into the dirt that holds my gardens. Nourishing my gardens with daily doses of love and song. Surrounding myself with touchstones of memories and dreaming of new memories waiting to be revealed.

“For I proclaim the name of the LORD; Ascribe greatness to our God! “The ROCK! His work is perfect, For all His ways are just; A G-d of faithfulness and without injustice, Righteous and upright is He.~Deut 32:3-4

So with a “smarting” toe and a few stumbling steps, we are walking forward or maybe slightly sideways; laughing at ourselves for once again complicating our lives, but knowing that is precisely why we joined our lives together in the first place. Idiots who like the “less traveled by road” deserve each other.

“BEHOLD, I LAY IN ZION A STONE OF STUMBLING AND A ROCK OF OFFENSE, AND HE WHO BELIEVES IN HIM WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.”~Rm 9:33

Fortunately, for humans such as we, Our Father always has a plan. 2000 years ago, He began planting a stone that would never roll away. A Rock planted so firmly that any who stand upon it “WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.”

In a tiny, dirty stable, after a long journey that ended on a dark and chilly night, the Rock of Righteousness planted a piece of Himself into a world that needed a more tangible Rock to stand upon. A Rock that continues to call to all who have ears to listen, saying, “Come, stand upon me and find peace to all of goodwill.”

[google images]

Gerard_van_Honthorst_001

Leave a Reply

