Daily Archives: December 13, 2015

25 NAMES OF CHRISTMAS – WONDERFUL COUNSELLOR


img030The daughter’s house was crazy tonight. Kids running everywhere. Food eaten more by adults than kids since they were way too busy for food. Granddaughter’s ribboned hair bounced in time to her jumps while the tiny lizard she had found earlier in the day hung on to her pink shirt for dear life. It was anything but peaceful.

Happy chaos. Needless to say, hubby and I didn’t stay long. We found ourselves sitting in a corner of her kitchen debating the pro’s and con’s of building a house vs buying a fixer-upper. When the Grandson disappeared into the herds of kids, we found ourselves talking louder and louder. We decided we needed a more peaceful spot to contemplate our future and counsel together.

“Come unto me, all of you who labor and are forced to bear burdens, and I shall give you rest.” ~Matt 11:28

It is strange. When you are used to walking the path the Father made just for you, you start to trip over debris pretty quickly when you’ve wandered into the woods by mistake. The building process has bugged both of us for awhile. Hubby hasn’t been sleeping well, and I have been restless. There have been way too many fallen logs in the path for comfortable walking. I needed more than my sturdy walking stick to keep me upright. I need a Counsellor…we need a Counsellor….a Wonderful Counsellor.

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am peaceful and meek in my heart and you will find rest for your souls.”~Matt 11:29

Since hubby wanted to ride a little bit on his motorcycle tonight, I meandered on Jesus-by-Akiane-Kramarik-768x1024the way home. Driving past one of the houses that we are considering buying, I got to look at the Advent lights. It’s been a long time since I’ve called them Advent lights, but long ago, that is what my dad called them. He told me that they were there to light the path of the Christ child as He returns to earth on Christmas bringing peace to men of good will. When I was growing up, Dad was my earthly counsellor, but on one of our last car trips together, he made sure I knew who was his Wonderful Counsellor.

“For my yoke is pleasant and my burden is light.”~Matt 28-30

This Wonderful Counsellor is preparing for His journey once again. He is bringing a break in the chaos. A gift of wisdom to those who seek to bring good will to those around them. “A peace that passeth all understanding.” A path that brings us home to His Father who has always been waiting for our Advent journey home to Him.

Tonight when I got home, I started to write this post and immediately fell asleep inimg823 my chair for about 45 minutes. That doesn’t happen to me very often. It happens to the hubby. He’ll come home and is asleep on the couch within a few minutes. But tonight, peace wraps around me like a comforter and words are calling me outside. Barefoot, I look around at the lights on the street. Whiffy clouds catch the brighter lights and reflect a pinkish glow back at me. Stars wink, and I breathe in the wonder of the warm air.

Peace is in the air and Daddy’s words are still whispering as if He was still right beside me and reading the Christmas WORD to me once again. “A Son hath been given to us. And the princely power is on his shoulder, And He doth call his name Wonderful, Counsellor, Mighty God, Father of Eternity, Prince of Peace.”~Is 9:6

[Akiane art]

 

Loudonville nativity