TWINKLES

My cousin shared a photo today of my Grandma and Grandpa Ferris.Mary Mamie Wachtel Charles Arthur Ferris 1 8 1905 They were married 111 years ago today, January 8, 1905. It fascinates me to no end. A young couple staring straight ahead at the path they had chosen to walk together. Home – love – struggles – children – grandchildren – illnesses – deaths – are all there in their eyes. Somewhere in there, if I look hard enough, I can see the twinkle that I will be – ready to ignite and merge my life to the one they started.

“Haven’t you read,” he replied, “that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’ ? So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.”~Matt 19:4-6

76 years later almost to the day, hubby and I started off on our own journey bc weddingtogether. We added smiles to our pictures, but our eyes were still staring straight ahead – waiting to see what the future would hold. Circumstances change, but the essentials remain pretty much the same. Home – love – struggles – children – grandchildren – illnesses – deaths. I look at the twinkles that I have been blessed enough to notice and smile. God is good – us – not so much – but luckily – He has given us enough grace to twinkle just a little.

I had no idea that my grandparents had gotten married on January 8th until this year (even though it is written in my father’s over sized Masonic Bible that sits in my living room). Just 45 years ago on January 8th 1971, my parents were sitting img603at home on a snowy night. My mom’s sister and her husband popped in the door with a bottle of champagne and a card wishing my parents a happy 35th anniversary. According to mom, they had a great party that night. Laughing, drinking champagne and eating shrimp that she pulled out of the freezer. The quinky-dink was this – it was not mom and dad’s anniversary. They were married on JUNE 8th – not January 8th. My aunt had gotten the number of years right, but the day wrong. The next day, my daddy died while working on fixing up a home for his sister.

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female created them. And God blessed them. And God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Genesis 1:27-28

Twinkles from one generation to another light our paths. When my hubby and I Grandma&pa Ferrisdecided to get married on January 9th, it was so mom and I would have something to make us smile on a day that held so much sadness for our family. She loved the idea, and so did I. Further, I chose to walk down the aisle alone carrying a single rose. My dad always gave me red roses on my birthday from the rose bush he grew outside our home. As I walked down that aisle, I knew Dad was walking with me every step of the way.

Twinkles are like that. They are the blessings that pass through those touchstone moments of our lives. They are that little piece of Our Father that lights our path since our eyes are too weak with sin to be able to behold Him face-to-face. Twinkles are the the hope that motivates us to keep stepping forward. Struggles – illnesses – death – still dog our steps – sometimes more than we think we can handle. But the twinkles remain. Little fireflies that dart in and out of our periphery and beg for us to hope once more. Hope enough to step forward and seek His face..

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see”~Heb 11:1

I love God’s twinkles and the hope for things to come. Here’s to our 36th twinkle filled path of our journey together, Hubby.SarahStanley05

Leave a Reply

