HUMPING DOWN THE PATH

100_0956This is definitely “hump day”. Hump over the mounds of stuff still waiting to be moved. Hump over the amount of days left to “git ‘er done”. Hump over the many trips back and forth (PTL it is only 4 miles away). Hump over getting all the workers to the house at one time. Hump as the dwelling changes from a home to a house. We are beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel.

hump/həmp/noun
1.a rounded protuberance found on the back of a camel or other animal or as an abnormality on a person’s back.
synonyms: protuberance, prominence, lump, bump, knob, protrusion, projection, bulge, swelling, hunch; More
2.a rounded raised mass of earth or land.
verb
1.informal to lift or carry (a heavy object) with difficulty.
“he continued to hump cases up and down the hotel corridor”
2.make hump-shaped.
“the cat humped himself into a different shape and purred”
3. (I deleted it, but you already know this one)

100_0954Hubby is already asleep on the couch. Dogs are restless. They bark at the least little thing and really don’t let us out of their sight unless they are forced to. Today, the car was “humped” with stuff, and they still found a way to squeeze their rather large bodies into about 10″ of space…together…both of them…not a pretty sight. They were not pleased to hear the stern voice of their mother ordering them “out”. I think they realized I was not in a mood to bicker with them because they got out really quickly – for them.

“I will refresh the weary and satisfy the faint.”~Jer 31:25

The house is shuddering a little tonight. Then again, perhaps I am just projecting the tremors I feel inside of me. The hump seems too large to swing anymore things over it. Yet, I know that as full as the new garage is, we are definitely at the crest of the hump and looking over the other side. Hubby still has a lot of larger stuff to move, but for the most part, closets are empty and only the master and kitchen remain to tackle.

I am humped out. I am tired. Where is my book?

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”~Matt 11:28-29

100_0951This is the point I usually want to pick up my Anchor, bury my head in His lap, and ask to sleep for a month. Sleep comes easy to me when I put everything in His plan. Yesterday, I walked around the property; praying with each step that we will trust His perfect planning even when it is not in sync with ours. When there are a million and one things needing to be done, it is hard to rest and trust that things are being accomplished in His perfect time – not ours. One ceiling is painted. Water gets completely turned on tomorrow. Walls are in the first stages of being patched. Carpet is out and flooring gets started on Monday. The really interesting thing – we will be sleeping there by Sunday. “Trust and obey, there is no other way….”

“In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety.”~Ps 4:8

100_0953I have no idea how this works. Hubby wants to get things in motion and run away to FL for a month. I want to stay and keep my eye on things (I think it is my teacher nature). However it works, I know that it is my Anchor that will get me over the hump of taking a damaged house and making it into a home where He will live with us

Humps are those places where I really am challenged to learn to trust in Our Father’s perfect will and not mine. I would love to be able to move into a finished house, but that just ain’t happenin’, so I need to get over this hump and trust.

Today is definitely hump day and I’ve got this! Seriously – I’ve got this! I think – mostly – well – maybe……………….204637-Guess-What-Day-It-Is-Woo-Woo (1)

Leave a Reply

