FILLING THE BOWL

Lent is about to begin.

Where has time gone? Wasn’t it just Christmas? New Year? Moving Day?

The days have been a blur of planning, executing, meeting obligations and wishing that it would go even faster, so that our new house would quickly become a home. From the time I get up in the morning until the time I fall into bed, I have not spent my day the way I really need to spend my day.

On my knees.

In continual awe.

Within holy prayer.

jan 29 2016cI am productive. The house is shaping up. Furniture will start to appear in their proper place this week. A kitchen should start to surround the stove and refrigerator. Hubby is planning an escape to warmer climes. I put up the bird feeder for the multitude of song birds that are hunting food in these wintry temperatures. We’ve found the rock upon which to build a garden around and bless with the Biblical covenant verse that we always use upon our properties. We’ve started to dream even more dreams for this land we have been lead to inhabit.

But –

I have not brought my gifts before My Father. I have not laid them at His feet. I have not even spent time in study. or quiet prayer. I have let the physical world eat up my time in the spiritual realm. I have taken too many steps backwards.

So –

As we approach Lent, I have been thinking more and more about what I need to do to enter the holiness of these 40 days. And – I have decided that I do not want nor need to give anything up. Instead, I need to gather my tiny stones and place them into my bowl, fill it to the brim and bring it carefully to My Father who loves me despite my short-comings.

Questioning.

Learning.

Singing.

Writing.

Reading.

Witnessing.

Creating..

Praying.

These are the beginning stone gifts with which I want to fill my bowl and carry into His presence during this Lenten season. Praying for others. Learning to sing a new song. Finding His wisdom. Absorbing His sacrifice into my life. Writing His WORD in my heart. Creating – dedicating all things I do to His glory. Entering my war room on my knees – beseeching and leaning into His teachings in all my ways.

This is the Lenten gift I want to bring to Him.

Rabbi Yeshua knew where His feet would lead has he turned towards Jerusalem. He understood the Rock upon which he stood would crack beneath the weight of the sin he carried A frightening storm would shake the earth to its deepest core. The curtain of the old covenant would be torn asunder and His people would cower in fear.

But –

He also knew that the Grace which would rise on the 3rd day would seal the crack forever. The Light of the world would shine more brightly upon all His creations. And – He would roll back the stone from the Path of Life that leads towards home. His children would be free to set their feet upon His path and follow.

Lent is coming. Shove Tuesday. Ash Wednesday. 40 days to choose once again.

Tonight, I am picking up my bowl. Washing it out. Polishing it. Preparing to fill it with meager, dirty, stone gifts, at least that is how I feel when I compare them to His gift. Where this Lenten path will lead, I have no idea. I never do. But – it always leads to something new and treasured. A step here. A step backwards there. Gifts gathered until I stand once again upon the Rock in this new year of GRACE.

“Let this be a sign among you, so that when your children ask later, saying, ‘What do these stones mean to you?’ then you shall say to them, ‘Because the waters of the Jordan were cut off before the ark of the covenant of the LORD; when it crossed the Jordan, the waters of the Jordan were cut off.’ So these stones shall become a memorial to the sons of Israel forever.”~Josh 4:6-7

[Janet Searfoss art  http://janetsearfossbatiks.com/ ]


angel_blessingscopyr-231x159

Leave a Reply

