LEFT HAND TWIST

lefthandedaFirst – you have to love a place where you can browse 30-50 free books whenever you want.

Second – you have to love a book that is titled “The Left-handed Book”.

Third – you gotta LOVE a professor named Dr. BRYNg BRYNgelson of the university of Minnesota who says, “Left-handed people tend to be more creative, more imaginative than right-handed people.”

Well – you do have to admit that if you were a left-handed, retired English teacher/reader named Bryn you would definitely have to consider “loving” these three things.

Somedays, you just go where ever the road takes you and just chill. Today I didn’t unpack one box – – – or move things around – – – or decide where to “permanently” place things for the remainder of our duration in this home. Didn’t clean anything. Didn’t blow leaves out of the garage. Didn’t do much at all.

Instead, I picked up a Grand, spent some time with squirmy-glad-its-Friday kids, started a new book that I picked up in our free space in Saxapahaw, and laughed my way through another little tome from the same place – a 1966 classic on being left-handed. It even comes with a Lefthanded Manifesto: “Be it resolved that all LEFT-THINKING citizens, mindful that their BIRTHLEFT has been denied them, shall henceforth stand up for their LEFTS! We call upon each one of them to support this BILL OF LEFTS, and specifically to….”

I’m not sure where this day was supposed to lead. I’m not sure I accomplished anything that I was supposed to accomplish (except I did get the Grand to his mother safely). What I do know is that it was a good day. It was a day to enjoy the sunshine, dream/plan/wonder about the gardens that I need to get under way and just enjoy a silly little book

Being left-handed was never a problem for me – except for one teacher in elementary school – who made sure I knew that she thought all left-handers should have been changed back in kindergarten – never did get above a “C” in handwriting in her class. I did have to work hard at learning how to use scissors, sit in right handed desks, write in straight lines on a chalkboard and twirl a baton good enough to match the other girls. And when frustrations turned to tears,I had a mother who slapped me upside the head and said, “God made you exactly the way you are supposed to be in this life, and if you quit you aren’t trusting Him enough”. Can’t argue with that kind of logic. Can’t give up with that kind of mother either.

Some day, I will pass this funny little book on to my left-handed granddaughter. Together, we can laugh as I explain how it was in the “old” days. Always such a fun thing when we can pass on our history or share how to do things with a leftie twist. It is another link in Our Father’s family chain of life that just keeps growing longer and longer and longer.

New things to learn.lefthandedb

Old things to discard.

Memories to treasure.

Rainbows to follow.

“For we are his creatures who are created in Yeshua The Messiah for good works, those things which God had from the first prepared that we should walk in them.”~Ep 2:10

PS – I wasn’t making up that professor’s name either.https://www.mnsu.edu/…/ku…/pioneers/bryngelson/bryngbio.html

Leave a Reply

