RATIONS 100 DAYS #14

My days just seem to get away with from me. A few loads of laundry. A walk or two to the garden – with the ball, of course. On a side note, did you ever notice that labs seem to fart more if they don’t have a ball to chase…do you think it is on purpose? Jump in the hot tub. Listen to a sermon that I missed last week, and the day is – suddenly – done.

Sundays are always my all time favorite. I think it was because Sundays were special while I was growing up. Stores closed. Streets virtually empty. Walks to Sunday School with Mom. Picnics with family. Play time with the neighbors and/or cousins and back road driving – if someone remembered to fill the tank before the gas station closed on Saturday.

Life is not so quiet on Sundays any more. Even in our small neighborhood, cars come and go all the time. Lawnmowers and blowers’ noise echo off the houses. And, of course, there is the occasional 4 wheeler or two.

This week I think Monday will be a favorite as well since our Littlest is coming for a visit, and maybe Buddy is coming from C-bus. It will be a busy week, but hopefully – I will find time to keep up with my RATIONS and the America’s Prayer Minute. It is so easy to get distracted in this world and lose sight of the Spirit that has become the touchstone in my life. In the noise of our modern world it is hard to listen to the quiet voice of Our Father/Jesus Christ/Holy Spirit. I need to work on this.

“Read: St. Luke 11:14-28

“When the unclean spirit is gone out of a man,he walketh through dry places, seeking rest; and finding none, he saith, I will return unto my house whence I came out. And when he cometh, he findeth it swept and garnished. Then goeth he, and taketh to him seven other spirits more wicked than himself; and they enter in, and dwell there: and the last state of that man is worse than the first’.~St Luke 11:24-26 kjv

“Goodness is never negative. Is my religion a religion chiefly of ‘don’ts’? Then it will not last. Goodness is positive. One of the bad things done to our wonderful and adventurous religion has been to give the impression that it is negative. It is thought of as drab, and limiting, whereas it is meant to be glorious, expansive, giving scope and true freedom to the personality.

“Let me think of my religion in that regard. I must step out boldly and gladly on my great adventure of faith. I must see to it that ‘the King of glory’ dwells in my heart. ‘Lord Jesus, come into my heart and reign over my life today.’

Leave a Reply

