RATIONS 100 DAYS #18

It is 74 days until the election – NOT that I’m counting or anything. We have left the world of regular TV, so we are not deluged by ad after ad after ad… “ad nauseam” (haha). Although – occasionally one or two derelict ads may show up and I groan. Unfortunately, I just suffered through a couple.

Again, God’s timing with these RATIONs are beyond human understanding. As I read and typed the one for today, it circled around me and I felt His citadel re-establish itself around me.

Integrity.

Virtue.

Character.

Faith.

Citadels of internal life. You don’t see them, but they are there as well. Protecting. Standing tall. Fortitude. Offering strength when we have none to offer. A place to retreat when the world seems too much to endure. Allowing us time to dream in safety.

There is a quote on a nearby church’s road sign. It says; “If your dreams don’t scare you, you aren’t dreaming big enough.”

Dreams are funny things. They can take us in a multitude of directions – from OH to MI – from MI to OH – from OH to AZ (for a couple of kidlets) – from a small town to a huge city (for another kidlet) – from AZ to NC – from AZ to NYC – from OH to NC.

Dreaming often takes us out of our physical citadels. Sometimes they are way too much work to continue. Sometimes they lead us to the things we thought and dreamed. And sometimes – – – not so much.

But it is the internal citadels that we carry within us that – eventually – get us through to the next physical citadel. Another fortress in life that gives us time to rest, enjoy, flourish and dream again.

As I go into the America’s Prayer Minute tonight, I look around at my new citadel and am so thankful. Thankful for the dreams that have carried me here and thankful for the dreams of family members that have carried them back to my citadel. And as I start to dream again, I begin to pray Ration #18 in earnest:

“Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.”~Matt 6:13

“Jesus knew that the ultimate citadel of human life is personal integrity. Deeper than economic needs, deeper even than friendly social relations, is the absolute necessity of respect for honest and upright personal character. If that goes, where can a man take hold of life, where can God take hold of him? Even though we do not perfectly attain to absolute integrity, so long as we recognize its authority and struggle, even repentantly, and inadequately, toward it, there is hope for us. But what hope for the man who calls black white, and white black; who puts bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter; who makes good evil and evil good? Moral confusion is the supreme peril of the soul.

“Guide me in thy truth and teach me; …Oh keep my soul, and deliver me; … Let integrity and uprightness preserve me, For I wait for thee. ~Ps 25:5,20,21

“Read: Psalm 1

“Prayer: O God, we come to thee with no false sense of our own importance or perfection We come only as those who remember that ‘still stands thine ancient sacrifice, and humble and a contrite heart.’ Lead up away from the temptations which might overwhelm us and deliver us from the temptations which might overwhelm us and deliver us from the evil which might break down the inner citadel and sanctuary of our lives. Through Jesus Christ, our Saviour. Amen.”

[google images]

Leave a Reply

