RATIONS 100 DAYS! #37 & #38

Sometimes – life just gets in the way…and that is okay. God opens our eyes in different ways and on different levels (which is always great for a Gemini who tends to wander off and get lost when she starts daydreaming).

Today and tomorrow are catch-up days since I took two wonderful days to spend with my childhood singing sister. So – 2 Rations – back to back because their wisdom is too precious too skip.

1942 Daily Ration #37: “Thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind [An Aramaic version translates “means” in this as well]. This is the great and first commandment. And a second liken unto it is this: Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.’~Matt 22:37-39

“It has been written: ‘If religion ends with the individual, it ends.’ Verily. But if it does not begin with the individual, it never begins, and has no being. Religion is an individual matter in its roots but a social matter in its fruits.

“Jesus said that all the Law and the Prophets are fulfilled in the ‘law of love.’ High ad creative religion is first of all a consuming, loving loyalty to God and trust in God i the mid and soul of a person. But in the same breath Jesus directed that love outward to humanity, other persons, neighbors. Religion cannot be closed up in private experience. It must begin there, but it must grow outward, sending its branches into an understanding and loving relationship with others. This is the leave of love that will revolutionize human life.

“Read: Luke 10:25-37

“Prayer: Quicken my spirit, O Lord my God, with they holy love. Help me today to be guided by a creative and aggressive purpose to love my neighbor as myself by understanding him forgiving him and asking his forgiveness of e. So may i be faithful to thee. Through Christ, Amen.”

1942 Daily Ration #38:

“Read: Romans 14:10-19

“‘The kingdom of God (or of heaven) is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and joy in the Holy Ghost.’~Rom 14:17

“We wanted to know about the Kingdom, so we bought a book that had gone into eight printings! That had to be good. But the best part was when the scholarly author put out his smoking lamp, threw up the shades to heaven’s light, and made a confession.

“As a child he walked with his nurse a road lied with houses of poor people. From one house some children emerged, bearing little branches of sycamore, from which they had stripped all but the bronze leaves at the top, These they carried as an army with banners.

” ‘Then one of the children, with a gesture of good will, offered a branch to me but I, little snob, turned away, and trudged proudly after my nurse. As I came to a turn in the road I looked back and saw those children standing there, holding the branches in their hands, halted and frustrated by my refusal. They seemed to me very pathetic at that moment. I have done many things since far graver, in the world’s eyes, but nothing that has caused me such regret. I realize now that the Kingdom of Heaven had been offered me and I had rejected it.’

“From all snobbishness good LORD deliver me. ”

[google images]

Leave a Reply

