RATIONS 100 DAYS #41

  • It is 51 days until the election.
    Early voting starts in NC on Tuesday [check your own state’s dates].
    And – the 1942 America’s Prayer Minute continues in the timeless infinity loop.

These Rations always seem to bring it back to Prayer. War is like that It reminds us how important it is to hold a conversation with the one who created us – – – to spend time with Our eternal Father – – – a Father who wants to talk and spend time with us even more than we want – – – a Father who loves us beyond our wildest dreams.

When I was growing up, Mama Mick had books and miscellaneous quotes from a man named Peter Marshall. I read the books, but I would find the quotes stuck into other books, hung on the refrigerator, taped to a bedroom mirror, or folded in her purse with the embroidered hankie. I would read them and somewhere tuck them into my own growing memory banks because whenever I saw his name a bell clanged (still does), and I perked up and paid attention. Whether he was praying before Congress, his congregation or his friends or family, Peter Marshall knew how to talk with His Father.

We are entering a new adventure on November 8, 2016. As we seek wisdom for this adventure, perhaps Rev. Marshall’s words will help us seek a deeper level of Our Father’s heart: “Lead us to this high adventure. Remind us that a ‘mighty fortress is our God’ – not a hiding place where we can escape for an easy life, but rather an arsenal of courage and strength – the mightiest of all, who will march beside us into the battle for righteousness and world brotherhood. O our God, may we never recover from our feeling of helplessness and our need of Thee! In the strong name of Jesus, our Lord, we pray. Amen.”

1942 Daily Ration: “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken us?’~Matt 27:46

“Read: Psalm: 1:21

“Someday Death, whom I have met so often in other people’s homes, will come to mine. That day I shall not lose my Master, for He, too, was holden of death. I shall have a Friend who will walk with me down that dark road, which he has walked before. So I shall trust Him.

“Someday failure and disgrace may overwhelm me, and I may know what it means to be hated and to have those I had thought were y friends condemn me. But that day I shall have one Friend who will stay by my side and know what it means, for he too, went through such an ordeal. That is why I shall trust him.

“Someday tragedy- – – unreasonable and unfair and explainable – – – may crush the poor structure of my faith and I shall look toward heaven with my eyes so blinded with grief that I shall be incapable of seeing the face of God. If that day comes, I shall seek my Master and hold fast to him, for he, too cried out, ‘My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?’

“I am glad that he did. Had that word not been spoken, I would be alone at life’s darkest hour.

“Prayer: O God, our Father and Friend, we are so grateful that we cannot escape thy love or flee from thy saving Spirit. Thou wilt search us out through Christ. Amen.’ “

[google images]

Leave a Reply

