RATIONS 100 DAYS! #51

Well that’s it. Hubby and I decided watching the debates this year are worthless. Personally, I’ve thought they have been pretty worthless for the past couple of decades, but I kept hoping they would turn away from the ‘one-liner, notice me, gotcha’ format’ and really discuss issues. I guess classic debates went the way of classic, Socratic education and are – primarily – missing from our society.

“One must have the mental and moral courage to face facts honestly and without flinching. One must see his antagonist squarely if he is to take his full measure. Fear to know facts often makes the facts seem more terrible than they are”~1942 Daily Ration

God winked, and I wondered – once again, ‘How does He do that?”

At this point in my life, you’d think I’d know to trust Our Father’s timeless looping and weaving. Time doesn’t matter to Him. Last week, I got a flyer in the mail that said ‘Jesus for President’. It was from a church in a near-by town.. While this new church is too far away to really become my church family, the name caught my eye, New Hope Church of Hillsborough.

God winked again, and I smiled. God knows I miss my old church, the WORD, the Spirit, the music and my friends in OH. http://newhope.rocks/

The colorful flyer now resides in my war room. It reminds me every morning and every evening to pray for our leaders. Jesus turned down being a king in this world. I’m relatively certain that He would turn down being President as well. George Washington fought against being President – twice. That’s the kind of man we need. That’s the kind of President I am praying to see one day.

1942 Daily Ration: ” ‘Be of good courage and He shall strengthen thine heart.”~Ps 27:14

Read: Psalm 27

“One must have the mental and moral courage to face facts honestly and without flinching. One must see his antagonist squarely if he is to take his full measure. Fear to know facts often makes the facts seem more terrible than they are. Fear is a fog, that makes specters out of lampposts. It is sometimes desirable that one should admit unpleasant facts to others. Confession gives outlet to strong emotion that otherwise turns in and may often accumulate dangerously. Better tell a friend your trouble than to break, trying to cover it up and to carry it by yourself True pride that will not burden another should not degenerate into false face facts aloe and with others is the surest way to discover adequate resources with which to meet them.

“Prayer: O God, we desire above all else to be honest with thee, with ourselves and with others Give us sense and courage to look life in the face and to stand before facts without evasion. Deliver us from false pride and self-pity and give us the calm of those who put their trust in thee, the living God. Amen.”

[google images]

Leave a Reply

