RATIONS 100 DAYS! #52

The neat thing about technology is the swiftness at which I can access information. As a research librarian at the Ohio State University Music Library,I could spend days trying to access some minuscule fact for a faculty member or doctoral student.

I loved the process. It was like an unsolved puzzle, so I was never bored. Well – – -that is perhaps a small exaggeration. When I was stumped (or bored)I would walk around campus, find an empty practice room, bang a piano, kiss a boyfriend, partake in some impromptu quartets with random people who were also bored and walking around the halls, write some poetry, hang out with my choir director – or boyfriend, and then go back to the search.

However – technology can not do that with a few random click. (As a strange quinky-dink – off topic note – I keypunched a lot of those same music books into their first digitation form in the 1970’s when computers took up whole rooms at OSU) Today, as I read today’s Ration, I knew I recognized the words to the last prayer from somewhere. Needless to say, I went on a search and within a few keystrokes found them.

“O LORD, support us all the day long, until the shadows lengthen and the evening comes, and the busy world is hushed, and the fever of life is over, and our work is done. Then in thy mercy grant us a safe lodging, and a holy rest, and peace at the last. Amen.”~1928 Book of Common Prayer

Actually, I found it in several places. The above version of it was in the 1928 Book of Common Prayer which is probably where I read it or recited it since I made extra money in college by being a soloist for area churches or keypunching books into a computer. But as always – a search bring me new questions and gets me wondering.

However – for tonight, I am thankful for finding this night time prayer. A prayer with a long history of people reciting it and whispering it as they closed their day. A somewhat constant reminder in a chaotic world to thank Our Father for what we had, what we have, and what we will have as we continue to see Him with a humble heart.

1942 Daily Rations:
“Jesus knew what fear was, but he was never afraid He faced hostile crowds and he looked into the eyes of men who had murder in their hearts. The leaders of the day branded him as dangerous and said that he led the people astray. His own family thought him beside himself and tried to get him to stop his work and come home. His disciples could not understand his plans and ideas and fled from him in the hour of his greatest need. He literally sweat blood in the Garden with his heart courageous and eyes aglow. He never let fear master him; he mastered fear. On his lips were those quiet words which he still speaks to all brave souls who try to follow his footsteps: ‘Fear not…Lo,, I am with you always, eve unto the end of the world.’

“Read: Psalm 23; Matthew 28: 5-10; 16-20

“Prayer: O Captain of our salvation, when all about us is darkness and we know not the way, teach us to find new courage in they comradeship. ‘Support us all the lay long…until the shadows lengthen and the evening comes and the busy world is hushed, and the fever of life is over…Then in thy mercy grant us…peace at the last.’ In thy name we pray. Amen.”

[google images]

Leave a Reply

