RATIONS 100 DAYS! #54

Hmmmm…interesting turn of events today. Over the craziness of my days, I tend to think about what I will write when I finally settle in my chair and take to the computer. Usually, there is a seed that God had already planted. I never know how it will eventually bloom, but I can feel it emerging as the day hurries me along and by evening the first sentence just plops itself our in front of me.

Today, there have been a series of things. It started with early morning vivid dreams that are just too-weird-to-describe. Dreams that I am still thinking about. Then I caught the tail end of talk about this verse: `I am the God of thy father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, `and the God of Jacob’Exodus 3. 6.

I’ve heard this phrase often throughout my life. It is not only in Exodus but also mentioned in the NT – in its entirety and in various shortened versions. Jewish tradition says that when things are repeated in the Torah, there is much to be discovered.

So I sat and thought.,,,
And thought…
And thought some more…

I’m sure there is much more than I know yet, but I’m working on it. So here is a quick summation of today’s random thoughts.

  1. 1. Each of these men represent some portion of Our Father’s characteristics in His relationship to us (that was a pretty easy leap).
    2. Abraham was totally faithful in his relationship with Elohim (again, more thoughts keep bumping around as I type this, but I really am trying to keep it short).
    3. Issac was a prince born of wealthy parents and yet – at the age of 38 (according to Jewish tradition) agreed to be a sacrifice – if that is what his father wanted (I do believe I have tons more to flesh out on this one).
    4. Jacob spent his life not sure of his place in this world – or ‘wrestling with God’ (tons more thought doesn’t even begin to cover this one).

But all-in-all, I think that God used this one phrase to tell us that He loves the faithful, those who are willing to sacrifice themselves and those who struggle with Him every day of their life. As an addendum to Jacob, when his struggles are over – he is reborn with a new name.

Thoughts in progress as I read these words in today’s Rations: “Yeshua answered and said to him, “It is written: ‘you shall worship THE LORD JEHOVAH your God, and him only you shall serve.’ “~Lk 4:8

1942 Daily Rations: ‘Angels came and ministered unto him’~Matt 4:11

Read:  Psalm 119: 161-168

“Jesus had come victoriously through his temptation. His last word to Satan were the closing words in the incident for today: ‘Thou shalt worship the LORD thy God, and Him only shalt thou serve.’ One must go the way that God and his universe are going or else be at sixes and sevens with the world and Himself. When Shelley was a child he once set fire to a fagot pile. When questioned as to why he had done so he replied that he had wanted ‘to make a little hell’ of his own. This is not hard to do. The easiest way to do it is to throw off all sense of standards to which we must be loyal. The happy man is the one who keeps faith with his ideals. Angels come and minister unto him. This is the peace of fidelity.

“Prayer: O Thou who are the strength of all souls, abide in us this day and make us strong. May we have courage to follow the right with such fidelity that there may abide in our hearts the peace of God that passeth understanding. Amen.”

[google images]

Leave a Reply

