RATIONS 100 DAYS! #59

Everyone is watching the weather in NC. News casts don’t start with the daily election encapsulations and countdown(33 days); instead the weather highlights lead the way. State of Emergency. Evacuation zones activated. New tract indications. Damage assessments. Even the TV’s in little country restaurants are tuned into the weather station.
 
Gotta admit – it is SOOOOooooo much better than listening ad nauseam to election arguments.
 
That being said, there is an element of fear in the air. It is an undercurrent that threads through the everyday craziness and reminds people that in a few days, life could be highly disrupted. The “I am….” statement seems to come up often as people are talking.
 
As I read today’s Ration, I wasn’t surprised to see ‘fear’ pop up in the discourse, but in and of itself, it left me uneasy. Mostly because, I don’t agree with the story this author/s used or the analogies they employed. I liked my second devotional much better.
 
It was about the “I am…” statements in our lives. The I AM that has been present in our lives since He breathed into our nostrils the breath of life. We just tend to forget the import of those two tiny words.
 
When I was teaching, I used to have the students (and sometimes some of the teachers as well) to write an I AM poem for their autobiographies. Most of the time, those poems were powerful – emotionally, funny, creative, insightful. Those tiny words are powerful. But the important things about I AM is that in the poem and in life, they are the words that come first – before name – before adjectives – before self.
 
I didn’t seek YHVH out of fear – although I certainly fall on my knees when I AM fearful – I sought Him because when I looked around me, how could I not? I AM breathed my name into my nostrils and I have worshiped Him in spirit and truth ever since. I know no other way.
 
1942 Daily Ration: Read: St. John 4:19-26
 
“The hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshipers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth; for the Father seeketh such to worship him. God is a Spirit; and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth.”~St. John 4:24
 
“What is worship? Worship is the bridging over of the space between God and man. Really there is o space between God and man. But that will be apparent only after we have come, as Jesus says, to worship God in spirit and in truth. Until then worship will be a bridge.
“Long ago that bridge trembled like the frail Bridge of San Luis Rey. On man’s side it trembled with fear. ‘For fear,’ said the primitive man, ‘I will seek God.’ The first act of worship was running to cover, an effort to shelter oneself from shapes of fear.
 
“Fear turns worship into magic, and magic into a bridge. Even today some would kiss the relics enclosed from their lips by the prudence of their Church. The invocation of magic may be natural, but it is not worship.
 
“Jesus speaks of worshiping the Father in spirit and in truth because that was his experience in worship. He had no need of the bridge. He said, ‘I am not alone, because the Father is with me.’ We ourselves have been conscious of this in moments of true worship.”

[google images]

Leave a Reply

