RATIONS 100 DAYS! #74

Running errands, unloading 4 – 50 lb bags of garden manure, and four good sized shrubs with a mashed toe – be it broken or stoved – was probably not some of the brightest things I’ve ever chosen to do – – Not the stupidest – but definitely ranks right up there with painful. A couple Aleve later, a little elevation, and I can smile again.

“Shout with joy to the LORD, all the earth!”~ Ps 100:1-3

It is time like these when I can hear Abba’s voice the clearest since He is laughing and trying not to say ‘He told me so’. He gives us knowledge and wisdom, but it doesn’t mean that we use it very often. At least – – – I don’t use it very often. sigh.

I am somewhat celebrating though. Last weekend when we started this new project, we broke the water line coming into the house. Which indirectly led us to finding a broken water pressure tank – so water has been on and off for the past couple of days.

When more than one thing breaks, this little worm starts squirming around in my brain that something else is about to break. You see, Mom Kaufman used to say that things always happened in threes (I’m pretty sure my mom used to say this as well, but for some reason it is always Helen’s voice that I hear in my head). Anyway – long story short – I figured out today – when I was limping around various places – that the third thing was already broken.

You betcha – my toe.

So – – – Got my wisdom back. Stayin’ off my foot (at least until I get the Grands tomorrow). And – – –“This is my story. This is my song. Praisin’ my Saviour all the day long”.

1942 Daily Ration: ” ‘Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.’~Ps 1:1-2

“Read: Psalms 1 and 8.

‘His delight is in the law of the Lord.’ Nature’s laws are God’s laws. Their fragments, discovered and recorded by early writers, amply reveal their fundamental nature. The psalmist pronounced him blessed whose mediation was focused here.

“Men of different generations may differently interpret the manifestations of God in nature, the unchanging book of divine relation, but the book remains and its laws are written in every star and blade of grass. The Eternal does not change, though manifest in multitudinous ways.

“The query ‘When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which tho hast ordained; what is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?” rises from meditation upon the law of the Lord. Humility is born of knowledge; and knowledge is born of meditative experience.

“Prayer: ‘O Lord our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth!’ Grant unto us the joy of thy presence. Help us to read thy law aright today. In Christ’s name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

