RATIONS 100 DAYS! #76

I’ve been fussing around and procrastinating about writing tonight. Been on and off the computer. Cleaned up the house after the Grands left. Limped through a few errands. Blew leaves off the deck- – -very carefully so that I wouldn’t step on a rock with my tender toesies. Wrote a little. Sat in the hot tub. Wrote a little. Played a few games of solitaire. Watched a couple plays of the OSU/Penn St game. Wrote a little. Deleted A LOT.
 
I’m not sure what is blocking my own Ration tonight. Maybe I’m just tired. There is something with children sleeping under my roof again that wakes me every couple hours to check on them. I used to do it all the time when my kidlets were under roof. Probably even more when they were teenagers. Walk into their rooms. Tuck the covers around them. Count their toes. Whisper a prayer of thankfulness and blessings. Not to mention – those crazy kids were always early risers. So too, the Grands. Did you know it is still dark at 6:15 A.M. ?
 
Yet – I keep coming back to the article I read a few days back in the New York Magazine. It was about a 600 year old white oak tree in NJ. Considered to be the oldest in the country, it is the tree President George Washington and the Marquis de Lafayette supposedly picnicked under, and it has been officially declared rotted beyond the point of salvage.
 
The author of this article hoped this tree wasn’t a metaphor for our country, but didn’t really elaborate on this. It was an article mostly about a tree killed by climate change. It was hot this summer. Therefore, the tree had brown leaves and is declared dying.
 
I’m not sure why this article keeps circling in my brain or why I have cut out this tree’s picture to put in my journal. It will be made clear eventually, but for now, I keep looking at the picture and wondering at the massiveness of such a tree and the creativity of Nature’s God. It is one of those times when I wish I could sit under its branches, record its stories and lay my head against it’s trunk.
 
There is a blessing in trees. We just have to figure it out.
 
1942 Daily Ration: ” ‘Put on the whole armour of God.
 
“Read: Ephesians 6:10-20
 
“In Paul’s letter to Timothy he write: ‘I have fought a good fight’ In this time of the world’s greatest war, every soldier of the cross should put on the whole spiritual armor and fight the good fight of sacrificial love and service for Christ and His cause. The only way to meet a ‘total war’ is by ‘total preparation’. The Christian soldier must have on his whole armor- – -a total preparation within his soul, with his fellow men, and with his God. ‘Christ liveth in me’ is adequate inner preparation. To ‘love thy neighbor as thyself’ and keep the Golden Rule is adequate outer preparation. To keep the Great Commandment- – –‘Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind’– – -is total Godward preparation. We must put on the ‘breastplate of righteousness,’ have ‘the shield of faith,’ bind our heart with the girdle of truth, and make this ‘total spiritual preparation’ and join him in his ‘total war’ against sin in the world.
 
“Prayer: Dear Father of Peace, prepare our hearts to fight for the peace and salvation of the world. Grant that by thy help we may put on the whole spiritual armor and battle for righteousness in this world of sin. We ask in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

[google images]

 

Leave a Reply

