RATIONS 100 DAYS! #84

Good days. Bad days. Spectacular days. Suffering days. Not always fun. Not always miserable. Successive strings of days where Terra turned beneath the feet. Days and Nights. A world full of lives lived.
 
I make it a point never to read ahead in this little Rations booklet. Everyday, I want to be blessed by the treasure that is recorded on each page. Yesterday, the Ration talked about Truth, and it’s importance in our lives, our countries and our world. It is of little wonder that today’s Ration speaks of Love. Love and truth always seem to go hand-in-hand. They give us a vision of where we should strive to be in this chaotic life.
 
“Where there is no vision, the people perish . . .”~Prov 29:18 (KJV)
 
I love picking up the Grands from their schools.I rarely ask them how their day went – instead – I might ask, “What was a question you asked today?” One time, my Grandson answered, “I asked to go to the bathroom and it was a good question because I really had to go.” My Granddaughter on the other hand, asked me why she should ask questions. teachers ask questions. I laughed. Yet – those answers led us to discussions that gave me a deeper insight into their thoughts and lives at school.
 
I love asking questions in my life, so I guess the Grands pegged me on that one. However, curiosity doesn’t always kill that cat. Sometimes it leads to long discussions. Other times it leads to deeper thoughts on both sides. And sometimes, it leads to dreams and visions of what potential life holds in store for us in our pursuit of truth and love. Our good days. Our bad days. Our questioning days. Our days of wondering. Our days when we ‘love one another…’
 
1942 Daily Rations: Read: 1 John 4:7-21
 
” ‘Beloved, let us love one another; for love is of God; and every one that loveth is born of God and knoweth God. . .God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God and God in him. . .There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear.’
 
” ‘Perfect love casteth out fear!’ Would we not have said, ‘Courage casts out fear’?
 
“Neither the Old nor the New Testament treats courage as a self-supporting virtue; they both treat it as a quality derived from something deeper. To try to generate courage just within oneself by goading oneself to meet danger is not the method offered in the Bible. The Old Testament shows how fear is overcome by reaching outward to God in trust. The New Testament carries us still farther, and couples with this trust a fear dispelling love that draws us out toward both God and man.
 
“We can feel sure, for example, that no fear was left in the spirit of that American, suffering with the Chinese in Peiping, who led himself to this: ‘I will not allow myself to hate. I will not allow myself to become callous. I will not blame God for what is happening. I will not abandon my vision of the Kingdom of God.’
 
“Prayer:O love that casts out fear,
O love that casts out sin,
tarry no more without,
but come and dwell within.”~Horatius Bonar c. 1800’s
Leave a Reply

