RATIONS 100 DAYS! #85

“The final expression of life is in terms of character. That is all we will have left when we come to journey’s end,”~1942 Daily Ration #85
 
Character: n : moral excellence and firmness <a man of sound character>the way someone thinks, feels, and behaves : someone’s personality
 
I remember looking this word up when I was in school. Now, whether it was grade school, Sunday school or Bible school, I don’t remember. What I do remember is how long it took me to form each letter and write three whole definitions, so I think I was pretty young. I also remember because Dad had used this big word in one of our talks.
 
Homework and life experience merged into wisdom.
 
I didn’t get spanked often as a child, but there are three times that I remember distinctly – in full color and detail. The first one and the last one are stories for another time. This one happened when I didn’t water the dog on a very hot day.
 
When I got home from school, Dad lifted my butt all the way out to the dog (and yes, we kept this dog on a leash – all day, every day) and then he sat me down to talk about what I did – or in this case – what I didn’t do. He used a big word I didn’t understand: character.
 
The more biographies and the more scripture I read, the more the word ‘character’ buried itself in my being. It is one of the reasons, I am having such a hard time deciding whom I CAN vote for this election cycle.
 
I do believe ‘character” IS the most important thing we will ever own and the only thing I want in the person I choose to vote for in the election cycle. sigh.
 
1942 Daily Rations: “Read: Isaiah 30:15-21.
 
” ‘Thine ear shall her a word behind thee saying, ‘This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left.’~Is 30:21
 
“It is easy to lose the way.
 
“There are many voices calling to us, and it is not easy always to recognize the voice of God. Yet, we may be sure he is always trying to speak to us, and to give us the right directions on the journey of this life. He is tremendously concerned about us, does not want us to lose the way.
 
“God’s clearest voice is the Word, the Holy Scriptures. We will not go wrong if we know our Bible. That’s God speaking! Then God gets a chance to speak to us in our prayers. We will not stray if we have learned to pray.
 
“The journey will be rough in places but the Voice will be there to cheer the traveler. The world will cry out to us, from the right hand and the left, but go not after it. Be strong and of good courage.
 
“We are to keep the heart with all diligence, for there is where the goods of life are kept. The final expression of life are kept. The final expression of life is in terms of character. That is all we will have left when we come to journey’s end, all we will have to offer to God at last. Listen for the word behind thee saying, ‘Thus saith the Lord.”
 
“Prayer: Grant me, O Lord, a listening ear and an understanding heart, and make me wise to know thy will in all things, so that when the day end I may hear thy welcome word. Well done, enter into my joy; in Jesus’ name. Amen.”   [google images]

Leave a Reply

