RATIONS 100 DAYS! #88

Not hard to find things to be thankful for today. Since I woke up – and until I close my – it was a jump-in-the-air-thanks giving day. A God given day – but then – isn’t every day – good or bad – a God given day? We merely have to remember and give thanks.

Got three plants in the ground. Scrubbed the hot tub so we can fill it again. Read a couple short devotions. Blew a million and one leaves off the deck and patio (and we won’t even talk about the million more still waiting out back). Worked on a couple things for Christmas. Read a couple chapters in my book. Picked a rose.

Our garden is covered in leaves and – although I’ve cleaned some of the debris away – it is no where near ready for winter. As I read today’s Ration, I thought about a different kind of God given day. The day the author is describing was much different.

It was a day of pain – a day of suffering – a day of tears – a day when the Light flickered across the world – and curtains torn.

A God given day. We just didn’t know it. All your days are God-given – whether you know it or not, so it is a good day to be thankful.

1942 Daily Rations: “Read: St. Mark 15:1-39

“And the soldiers led him away into the hall, called Praetorium; and they call together the whole band. And they clothed him with purple and platted a crown of thorns, and put it about his head. . .And they bring him unto the place Golgotha, which is, being interpreted The place of a skull.

“We are coming to the cross today. We are coming through Pilate’s judgment hall through the silences of Jesus, through the clothing with purple, through the smiling and the spitting to ‘the place of a skull’ where ‘they crucified him.’

“Note how all sections of the people seem to have been involved in that deed- – -rulers judges, soldiers, priests, people. Some wicked fanatics call his race, according to the flesh, ‘Christ killers.’ No, we are all potential Christ killers. ‘All have sinned, and come short.’ I was in that crowd today.

“I SEE the crowd in Pilate’s hall,
I mark their wrathful mien;
Their shouts of ” crucify ” appall,
With blasphemy between.
And of that shouting multitude
I feel that I am one;
And in that din of voices rude,
I recognize my own.”~’Twas I that did it’ by Horatius Bonar

[google images]

Leave a Reply

