RATIONS 100 DAYS! #90

I am not thankful that I am only 10 days away from finishing my 1942 Ration booklet. I’ve pushed myself for 90 days to be consistent in my devotions and writing – which for a retired, I-want-to-play-all-the-time-with-my-Grands, free-spirited Gemini is not my normal way. However, every day I find myself looking forward to the quiet typing of the new days’ Ration – the rhythm of the old King James language whispering in my ears as they find shape on the computer screen – and the inner blessing that once again blossoms through the Spirit and through my fingers.

 
‘It was as if an earthquake rent
The hearth-stones of a continent,
And made forlorn
The households born
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!’
 
I don’t like watching add-filled TV or listening to the radio these days – my mind has been filled to the brim with worldly things and the hunger for things beyond my ken. A breath of angel’s wings in my face. An expectation – of – something. A holding-the-breath-second before the note sounds clear and strong in my voice and rings forth.
 
“And in despair I bowed my head;
“There is no peace on earth,” I said;
“For hate is strong,
And mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”
 
Christmas songs came out early this year. Much more peaceful. Such a reminder. A crutch to get me through the next few days – months – years. Our country has been through tough times before. Our history-biographies-journals are full of stories where the people struggled. I just never truly understood how faith and wisdom can grow exponentially when we are out of our comfort zone.
 
Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;
The Wrong shall fail,
The Right prevail,
With peace on earth, good-will to men.”~H.W. Longfellow, Dec 25, 1864, ‘I Heard the Bells’
 
H.W. Longfellow’s poetry always touches a spot in me that reverberates – even long before I understood rhyme, meter and thematic devices. He suffered – the loss of a wife – a son severely wounded in war – he questioned – he wondered. He lived in a country that was also wounded and suffering and wondering . He lifted his head and waited. That expectation of something beyond himself. That breath that was not his own – carrying him until he could stand again.
 
That Breath of Life which carries us all beyond our comfort zone – until we can stand in the Light of righteousness once again. And for that – I am – oh – so very thankful.
 
1942 Daily Ration: “His disciples prayed him, saying, ‘Master, eat.’ But he said unto them, ‘I have meat to eat that ye know not of.” Therefore said the disciples one to another, ‘Hath any man brought him aught to eat?’ Jesus saith unto them, ‘My meat is to do the will of Him that sent me, and to finish His work. Say not ye, There are yet four months, and then cometh harvest? Behold, I say unto you, Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields; for they are white already to harvest. And he that reapeth receiveth wages and gathereth fruit unto life eternal: that both he that soweth and he that reapeth may rejoice together. And herein is that saying true. One soweth, and another reapeth,. I sent you to reap that and another reapeth. I sent you to reap that whereon ye bestowed no labour; other men laboured, and ye are entered into their labours.’~John 4:31-38
 
“You say that you tried reading the Bible and ran into so many difficulties that you gave it up. I do not wonder at that. The Bible is a library rather than a book. It is more than a thousand years of a people’s seeking after God, compressed into more than one thousand close-printed pages. The Bible is a long road indeed to travel, but the first steps are not taken on page 1. The first steps begin with knowing Christ, and for that we go to the Gospels. They are not like fiction which you rush through to learn the outcome- – -and then forget. They are eyewitness accounts of the Life which caused the witnesses to become followers.” [google images]

Leave a Reply

