RATIONS 100 DAYS! #92

Since I retired, I have this real aversion to setting an alarm clock – but tonight – I did it. Ready or not – and – as much as I hate waking up before it is light outside – Barbra will start singing, Hurry, It’s Lovely Up Here.
 
I will throw on my beloved, oldest OSU sweatshirt on, run a brush through my hair and try to convince the girls that they can wait for breakfast until we get back because – yupper – Hubby and I will be voting by 6:30 A.M.
 
“Have I not commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage…”
 
When I sat down tonight with Ration booklet in hand, this Bible verse jumped off the page. Well – not literally, of course – but when the Holy Spirit wants your attention, it knows how to get it by highlighting every letter in this puny brain.
 
“Be strong and of good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed…”
 
Compared to most countries, we have it so easy. Our polling place is a hop-and-a-skip from us. We could walk the girls there – if we were a little crazier. Thankfully, we will just hop in the car and trust the knowledge that we have gained over the past year and the principles that have shaped our lives.
 
“For the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.”
 
I love the book of Joshua. I love the foundational stones that I find buried in this book. Who am I kidding? I love every single book of the Bible, and all the Jewish wisdom and traditions that help me grasp the Old Testament a tiny bit more. What can I say? Understanding most of the WORD may be a stretch for me, but I know I will have an eternity to figure it out – eventually – maybe – hopefully – with a little help from my heavenly friends.
 
Perhaps – understanding will come to our country as well over the next four years. No matter who wins – if we work at it – if we have faith, hope and love – if we strive with our sacred honor – if we unite together once again – we will remember and recognize that the LORD our God is with us whithersoever we goest…even the day after the craziest election ever. Blessings!Be!
 
1942 Daily Rations: ” ‘Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed; for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.’~Josh 1:9
 
“The following letter, parts of which we shall read for today and tomorrow in an actual letter written by an English mother to her son in the war. ‘My dearest boy…
 
” ‘I don’t now where you are, but wherever it is, my heart is with you day and night. . .I know that kidding you that things won’t be too bad won’t help you in any way. . .You are going to be called on to do tasks beyond your experience and your strength. . .Prepare yourself spiritually before you go. No war ever demanded so much courage, pitting the body against engines of steel. More indestructible than steel, however, is the immortal soul of man.
 
” ‘Your immortality is your strength. Do no brace yourself into a state of tension trying to build an artificial courage. This way your nerves will snap. Man cannot stand alone and should not try. Connect yourself now with the source of your being and rest secure on the only solid foundation affording a foothold now left in this world. Pray at any time about anything. Think continually ‘God is with me.’ A Presence will come that will never leave you.’ ” [google images}

Leave a Reply

