RATIONS 100 DAYS! #93

Whenever I walk somewhere – songs ramble through my brain. I don’t know if it is the rhythm of the steps that brings a song to my mind or if it is just my mind reverting to those early days of walking and singing just for the sheer joy of singing. Today it was this one.

“I like the United States of America.
I like the way we all live without fear.
I like to vote for my choice, speak my mind, raise my voice,
Yes I like it here.

I like the United States of America.
I am thankful each day of the year.
For I can do as I please, ’cause I’m free as the breeze,
Yes I like it here.

I like to climb to the top of the mountain so high,
Lift my head to the sky,
And say how grateful am I
For the way that I’m working, and helping, and giving,
And doing the things I hold dear.

Yes I like it, I like it, I like it here.”

Way, way back in time, I memorized this little ditty and never forgot it. Today when it popped into my mind, I felt the breath of that little girl again. That 50’s world where faith, hope and love were a little more tangible made me smile.

It is a good day to smile. A good day to practice faith, hope and love.

1942 Daily Rations: [Continuation of a British mother’s letter during the war] Read: St. John 3:12-16

” ‘For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.’ ~St. John 3:16

“So arm yourself against mental suffering at the horrors you will see, by a serene courageous attitude of mind.

“Don’t regard the killed as lost men, nor crippled as defeated men, nor the bankrupt as afflicted men. These are the fears of puny hearts incapable of looking up at the starlit heavens and reading the signature of God.

“You will face destruction of this temporary body, and that is the leat of your troubles. Because death is nothing. Not even the loss of the pleasure of living.

“You will walk through a gate and you will go on. I don’t even pray you should be spared this because i would not feel that I had lost you. A temporary separation, that is all.

“Don’t be afraid of fear. . .It’s man’s deepest instinct, and a spur to brave men. Relax and pray. Reach out for the source of all life, all courage, all good, and a Hand will lead you through the dark. I don’t say this to give you any false comfort. It is true—true. I have proved it—and I know.”

“Prayer: O Lord, we pray thee to have mercy upon all who are this day wounded and suffering. Though kindred and friends be far away, let thy grace be their comfort. Raise them to health again, if it be thy good pleasure; but chiefly give them patience and faith in thee; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.”  [google images]

Leave a Reply

